A Perfect Day for a Mishap

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Good day steemians! Happy Monday to all. Today let me share how my day(or rather half of my day) went at work. It's one hell of an experience I don't want to partake anytime soon, or in the far future!

image.png
Source

Good Morning Sunshine!

I am usually a moody person when I wake up due to anemia (or so I was told). But today was different, I felt, vibrant, refreshed, rejuvenated to say the least! This doesn't happen every time so I was amazed with how my day started. So I got up from bed, went to the kitchen while my wife's in the shower, the kids are still sleeping since it's only 5 o'clock in the morning. So I turned on the stove and cooked some break fast, scrambled eggs for my wife, sunny side up for the kids, and few packs of instant pancit canton for me. then boiled some water for the beverages. I was done preparing breakfast when my wife finished her morning routine (God knows what that lady do in the shower for almost an hour and a half), okay my turn to take a shower before eating break fast, few minutes went on then me and my wife are now consuming the feast I have just prepared. alright need to prepare to go to work...

image.png

Source

The Calm Before the Storm

Okay, I'm all set, uniforms, food, a pack of cigarette, I'm all set to go to school, I mean work, I walked to where our "service" (transport service) was parked, it was a good 2 kilometers walk and I didn't even break a sweat, "everything's going fine", I told my self, my boss is on vacation leave for 2 whole weeks right now, and production has low demand so we have very little work load, "I can steemit all I want during working hours!". I was thrilled, so I hopped into the "service" then listened so some songs on my phone while on earphone. Then we arrived at the company premises... "Nothing's gonna ruin my day today!" or so I thought!

image.png

Source

Psshh! Piece of Cake... Wait!! What!??

When I arrived, everything was how I left it last Saturday. I turned on my computer, checked all the maintenance check sheet, did a little house keeping to maintain the area's cleanliness.

Ain't she beautiful!?

DSCN1554.JPG

Then someone arrived carrying something, Injection sent a mold for maintenance. "Is that it!?" I said to my self conceitedly as I went and fetched my tools from the rack, I started disassembling the mold as usual, cleaning the cavities till they sparkle like diamonds (okay I'm exaggerating), removed a few rust here and there, sprayed some anti corrosion agent and viola I'm almost done. The mold was scheduled for 1 pm production start, and it's not yet 9 o'lock in the morning and I'm almost done, "I'm so good!" I said to myself! Only a few bolts to tighten then that's it. Then it happened...

Unforeseen Calamity

As I was tightening the last pair of puller bolts, I heard a sound "Tack!! coming from the other side of the hexagonal wrench, at first I thought the hex wrench didn't withstood the pressure and broke, when I looked, both hex wrenches were fine ( you need pair of wrenches to tighten puller bolts). Then I went on again thinking the wrenches just slipped and making that sound, but then I was surprised, the already tight pair or puller bolts were now somewhat lose, so I need to tighten it again, then "Tack!", this time softer than earlier, then the puller bolts fell in opposite direction. "I'm screwed!" it's the first thing that came to mind...

The cursed thing that made my day hell, well, it's half of the cursed thing! The other half is still yet to be retrieved... T_T

DSCN1550.JPG

Pinch!

"I am so effing screwed!!!" that's the only thing that kept repeating inside my head. Need to do something, need to act fast!, I took an M8x35 bolt, about the same size with the one that broke, and took off the head using a grinding machine.

This is how an M8x35 Bolt looks like, I just removed the head part

DSCN1552.JPG

Now all that's left are the threads. I inserted the headless bolt into the puller rod, to imitate the original puller rod+bolt combination. That's one less problem, great! I can work with this, it's almost problem solved, I sighed a sigh of relief! Now, back to the other half of the puller rod, that's where problems began to arise, I can't seem to removed the original bolt from the other half of the rod. I tried looking for an extractor to remove the bolt inside but I can find any extractor anywhere! Palms are sweating now, it's almost 10 o'clock first short break of the day, I skipped my short break just to remove the remaining bolt inside the other half of the rod. I searched on google "how to remove broken bolts" and I found something that looks promising! Welding! Alright James! Let's get to work! I looked for a nut that would match an M8x35 bolt, and luckily I found one, alright! On to welding!! I was very optimistic that this would work since even youtube suggests this method if there are no extractors around that can be used. I was full of hopes only to be crushed later on...

The friggin nut won't hold on to it's dear life, or the bolt rather!!!

DSCN1548.JPG

I've tried welding it many times but it just won't work, the bolt's too small to use the usual welding machine so I used the ones usually used with cavities, but to no avail I am now in the depths of despair once again! I tried searching anything that can be used, so I found an old hex wrench size 3, so I drilled through the bold, so I can insert the wrench then weld it in place if the bolt, my hopes were up again, only to be shattered the second time around!

I don't know what material this wrench is made of, why welding won't work on it.

DSCN1549.JPG

*The welding machine that crushed all of my hopes into pieces.

DSCN1196.JPG

It's almost 12 noon, need to think fast, what else to do, no extractor, no left handed type drill bit, I am running out of options, until the 12 noon break time chime came, I ate my lunch as fast as I could, the food tastes bitter, I chewed only a few times then swallowed, need to act fast, 1 o'clock is fast approaching. Trapped in a corner with the time limit coming and resources thinning out on me, I am almost out of breath, my visions were cloudy, I can hardly think clearly, then it hit me, I need an extractor!!! I don't have the exact material I but still have resources and equipment. So I hurriedly went to get some M6x50 bolt (a thinner variety than the damaged one) and grind the bolt to resemble an extractor...

Self improvised exctractor"

DSCN1553.JPG

my breathing's getting heavy and labored, if this will not work nothing will, it's do or die, anyway I'm dead if this thing doesn't come out before 1 o'clock PM. So then the moment of truth! I drilled a bigger hole into the remaining part or the bolt, from a 3mm bit, I took it up a notch to a 4.7mm drill bit, just enough for the "extractor" to fit, I put my extractor into the hole I made from drilling then hit it with a brass hammer a few times, not very hard, just enough for the sharp part of the extractor to dig into the hole of the bolt. Then with all my might I turned the wrench attached to the head of the extractor, but the bolt fragment won't budge, I was so disappointed I almost cried. But then I realized, I was turning the wrong direction, instead of releasing the bolt remains, I was turning it to tightening direction, I almost slapped my self for the stupidity, so I composed myself again, ready to give it another try, the opposite direction this time. I turned with all the energy I have left, then I saw a little movement from the bolt fragment, "It's turning! It's releasing", from small turns to big whole 360' turns and another whole turn until the fragment was finally removed. It was very satisfying and relieving at the same time. it's like an orgasm in some way, now I can breath again.

"The cause of my headache and nearly cardiac arrest, this small little thing"

DSCN1551.JPG

And that's how I nearly died due to dehydration, fatigue, cardiac arrest and hyper tension, during a normal day at work (nah, just kidding, but still I was very nervous, I even still feel a little nauseousness as I write this article. Moral of the story? Not all that starts well ends well, and also the other way around.

Thank you for reading my little mishaps and escapade at work, I hope I'll have more stories to share in the coming days (but not the same as this one please!). Have a good day everyone, until next time!

© @jamesanity06, 2017


jamesanity06.png
Damo nga Salamat! Maraming Salamat po! Thank you Very Much!

steemit footer.png
I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jamesanity06 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

You got a 0.83% upvote from @upme requested by: @jamesanity06.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68734.33
ETH 3745.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72