Sort:  

Do you see no long term value in STEEM? I personally do.

What sense would it make to power down and then power up the same steempower you just extracted?
Am I missing something here?

Yes, you missed that 102 months is a damn long time...
The best you can do is:
Reevaluate your believes as often as possible - 1% of this investment, each of those 104 weeks, in this case!

PS also read smooth's comment/response to jesta.

Powering down doesn't mean you're selling and cashing out. You can also convert your powered down STEEM into SBD, which earns interest. SP is only one way to hold value within the STEEM ecosystem :)

@smooth the other day in chat said something along the lines of "there's no reason to not be powering down". I've been thinking about that a lot and I agree, at this point, there isn't a reason not to be. You can always just convert it back to SP if you really wanted to, but it gives you a little bit more flexibility and choice each week.

I'm hopeful that I'll be able to add more than the 1/104th to my account every week and still see it's value increase, even while I am powering down. Who knows if that's realistic or not, but I think it's a good goal :)

You do lose a small amount of SP earnings in the time delay between when it powers down and when you power it back up (if you decide to do that). That's a tradeoff you need to make against as you say having more flexibility and choice each week. If you realistically know you just aren't going to cash out, or if your balance is small enough that paying attention to tiny power downs each week is a waste of time, then as an exception to what I said in chat it does make sense to turn the power down off.

Great point. It's likely an inconsequential amount (currently) for the vast majority of people, but something to definitely consider as your account grows.

I'll have to play with the math at some point to see what kind of impact it has on a few different sized accounts.

Thank you for the information above @jesta and @smooth - Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41