Rugby in Italy, a developing culture 🏉

in #life7 years ago

Hello steemers/steemians!

(I still don't which is the correct term haha)


So you all know that rugby is a pretty popular sport, at least outside of the USA. But how is it viewed here in Italy, an extremely soccer focused country?
Well, I've never been a soccer fan, I've played rugby as a kid and was a fullback in high school, so you can say say that I prefer more aggressive sports.

Olimpico.jpeg
(Source: http://www.ultimouomo.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/10-Ufo.jpeg)

At the Stadio Olimpico in Rome, we get a few games of the Six Nations Championship, so of course I can't miss a chance to see my beloved Italy win (sigh I wish). The main difference from the soccer games is the almost absence of police in riot gear, that actually makes me feel safer, no damn hooligans!

IMAG0019.jpg

Although the police do like to show off their shiny new Lamborghini.

IMAG0027.jpg

The stadium may not fill up, but I can assure you that all of the rugby supporters make up for it in spirit. The rugby crowd here in Italy is just so passionate about the sport, and the beer. My absolute favorite difference from soccer games is that the fans aren't separated! The Italians, the English, the Scottish, the Welsh, the Irish and the French all enjoy the game together and respect each other, and the beer.
After the game, regardless of who won, there's the Terzo Tempo, the Third Half. It's basically when the beer starts flowing and everybody lets loose just to have a blast.

IMAG0028.jpg

That's me with some English Stormtroopers haha. I love finding these random dressed up strangers, I actually saw "Slash" once as well. The overall camaraderie that surrounds rugby here in Italy is really what draws me to this sport, I just can't wait for the next game!


Thanks for reading! As always, the pictures are all mine except when mentioned. If you like this story make sure to let me know! See you in the next post, stay cool ;)


Sort:  

Congratulations @jakfast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

lugar lindo mas confesso amei o carro

Sorry I can't speak Portuguese, I had to use Google translate haha
Can't blame you for liking the car, I couldn't resist it either!

Ok but I liked your post also use google translator have a great afternoon

Thanks, you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32