Road trip memories #1 Corsica

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemers!


This is my first "story" about my little road trips, so you can expect more to come!


One of my favorite things to to while I'm in Corsica is just going for a scenic drive. Bastia is in the perfect location for exploring, from the town center, it's just 5 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes to the mountains! Before we actually get started, let me introduce you to my ride.

My 208

Here's the "beast"! My wonderful Peugeot 208, a small French hatchback with a whopping 68 diesel horsepower. She's not the fastest but I've had her for the past 2 and a half years and she has been running smoothly and is actually a great first car to have.
Anyway, let's get on with the trip!

Here's the wonderful view of Bastia while entering the port.

Bastia

As you can see, the town is squeezed right between the sea and the mountains, it makes for some nice scenic driving. But before heading towards the heights, you've got to patiently get through the traffic in town.

Aston

Although traffic can be pleasant at times

Once you get to the mountains, you just get a very zen sensation. I swear driving there really calms me down (unlike driving in Rome haha).
The views are just stunning, one side mountain and one side sea.


These views aren't even 15 minutes from the city center! I tell you, Corsica is a wonderful destination if you want to escape from the big city life and just breathe for a bit.
In fact, during this trip I went all the way into the island towards Asco, a village where a good friend of mine is from. The village is on the Monte Cintu, Corsica's tallest mountain at 2,706 meters. The drive from Bastia is about an hour of small mountain roads and the trip there is worth it.

Asco

The cell reception is terrible and there aren't any big supermarkets around, but that's why I love the place. Nothing beats the quietness and the amazing views up here and I can't wait to go back for another quick getaway!


Thanks for reading this little story, let me know what you think!
All the pictures were taken by me.
I also want to congratulate my friend @andropench for reaching 100 followers!
See you in the next post and stay cool ;)



Sort:  

You've really made it look and sound like a great place to explore. Peaceful, too.

It is, I think it's one of the most underrated destinations in Europe

Nice view and scenary...thanks for sharing @jakfast ~!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44