The Glass Museum

in #life6 years ago

I'm in Seattle today and I needed something to do earlier, so I went to Chihuly Garden and Glass. The exhibit was pretty amazing, there were a ton of cool pieces of blown glass and the style was pretty unique and awesome as you can see below.


IMG_20180120_112030.jpg


IMG_20180120_112248.jpg


IMG_20180120_112409.jpg


IMG_20180120_112731.jpg


IMG_20180120_113008.jpg


IMG_20180120_113226.jpg


The designs are all artist Dale Chihuly's, he works with a good number of glass blowers to create these really cool glass art pieces. They do projects in cool locations, like Venice Italy and the effect is pretty stunning if you ask me. . They had videos at the end and he talked about his design process.

He said when he paints the designs he tried to do as little thinking as possible. SO instead of planning he learned the technique, and form and focused on speed. Once he got that down he would think as little as possible while painting. He encouraged this for the glass blowers he worked with too. They used very few physical tools, mostly just using heat, gravity, air pressure, and centrifugal force to create each piece. He's creating amazing art that mimmicks nature is created by natural forces.

The artwork really stands out as unique, with some pieces having dozens or hundreds of pieces of glass. I recommend checking it out if you're ever in Seattle, the art is amazing and it's interesting reading about it and watching the videos, very cool guy. There's even a show on how to blow glass. They made a bowl.

My favorite was the flower petal dragon, any favorites? Let me know in the comments

Sort:  

You got some beautiful pictures! I love his stuff, my mother owns a few pieces he created and they are treasured possessions :)

Much love - Carl

Thanks! ya really awesome stuff, I probably should have gotten some postcards or something

That’s a pretty cool looking place, how’d you find that? Those pictures look amazing! Very talented people .

It's right next to the space needle and I was wandering around, pretty awesome stuff

I was there two months ago. I also wrote about that. Beautiful place. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95