Game Time! - Knocking Out Two Powerful Habits with One Stone

in #life7 years ago

Sleep Habits

I usually get to bed anywhere from 12:30-3AM.

szucs-laszlo-91030.jpg

Photo by Szűcs László on Unsplash

Like my grandma, I'm a night owl. Always have been, and always loved sleeping in. I'm the king of snoozing, I'll set 5 alarms spread out over five minutes and snooze or sleep through every one. I still get up in time most days, but have the least amount of time possible to get ready.

My girlfriend on the other hand, likes going to bed early. She's usually out by 11PM which is good for steemiting, but bad for matching our schedules up. Karen wants me to start coming to bed with her more often, it brings us closer together and gives us extra time to talk. Aside from that there are some benefits...

Why Change?

IMG_20171119_195326.jpg

Puppies know the importance of sleep

I think going to bed at a decent hour is actually healthier, research about the importance of the circadian rhythm won the Nobel prize last year if I'm not mistaken. And if I did start going to bed earlier I'd be able to get up early, giving me time to accomplish some things like writing and yoga. Yoga that I haven't been doing consistently. My body still isn't healed up, I've got plenty to work through from past injuries and having consistent periods of sedentary activity from work and writing at home. I think it could be a big step in helping make me more productive in my writing and healthier by jump starting my body at the start of the day.

So I came up with a plan that would work for me and Karen: I go to bed with her during the weekdays, and she wakes up with me to do yoga and other morning workouts. I think doing this will help make us healthier, more productive, more energized, and will bring us closer together by giving us more activity and time we share together. I asked her about it and she agreed!

Tomorrow is Day 1.


Sleeping and waking at earlier hours has been on my list of habits to pick up over the years, but it's never been something I've pulled off for long periods of time since high school. This year I'm going for it and I have Karen to help keep me to it!

Do you have any habits you want/need to break or pickup? In my opinion habits make the (wo)man, and creating powerful, lasting habits comes down to starting slow and always being consistent. What habits are you changing this year?

Sort:  

Funny how this touches everyone. : ) We are at the opposite end of the spectrum. I do best if I am in bed by 8 or 9 pm and up at 4 or 5 am. Right now it is 6:30 am. This is my quiet time and some of my most productive and I am happy to have it to myself. He is more likely to stay up until midnight and sleep until 8, which is great for me because it gives me time for yoga, etc.

We don't have kids, and I can see where that would make a big difference. As it is, we are trying to each allow the other the time and space we need and it is working well. Good luck!

Haha, ya Mila got up at 4 today and slept with us til 7:30..... So while I did get to bed at 11PM I still soaked up all that sleep. Time to up my alarm game, I'm not giving up! I think it will be perfect for morning runs once the weather clears up and I want to get on the yoga, you're motivating me with your consistency

It's funny how you want to change your sleeping time to a period I wanna change from. I think we should just switch spirits,it will make it easier.lol. I like late night study cos of the quietness that comes with night and my internet speed is crazy fast at night. Night for me seems to be the only time I can get long uninterrupted hours which gives me more productivity.

Oh don't get me wrong, I love night time activity, everyone is asleep and I can just do what I need to do, I plan on having 1-2 nights a week where I stay up a bit later, but trying to get a good yoga habit down and get up with the sun is something I want to try out. I'd keep doing what works for you :)

I can very much relate. I am totally a night owl and have had to fight against my tendency to stay up too late. Having kids really pushes the envelope on the issue, but it is still hard.

lasting habits comes down to starting slow and always being consistent.

That is so important to remember. I've set my sights on a couple of habits this year. First, get to the gym 1-3 times every week. I've been 100% successful so far, and for me that is significant because it has been about 5 years since I've had a habit like that. Second, write something everyday. Really anything. A poem. A ramble. An analysis. I want to write more. I'm only two weeks in so far, but it has been really enjoyable.

Good on ya for setting healthier goals for yourself. Look forward to hearing about the journey.

Ya, Mila kept us up a bit last night, then prevented an early morning this morning, might be testing out night owl yoga again... I just need some kind of workout! At least until the weather permits some good running.

Great job on hitting the gym! I've just been doing bodyweight stuff at work and home while I focus on working out the kinks, luckily I have a little home gym I can utilize, but my garage is freezing!

Thanks for the great comment and for stopping by the blog again, I'm gonna have to call it a night, my VP is about at 80%. I got you followed now, let's keep the convo going. How many kids btw?? Looks like 4 from the pic, talk about a handful!

kept us up a bit last night, then prevented an early morning this morning.

Oh man, yes I know how that goes! How old is your daughter?
I have had so many false starts when trying to make routines of working out at home. I just wasn't able to establish that habit. Maybe one day though.

And yes, I have five kids. We just had our fifth in November. It is a pretty full house over here.

Haha I bet, mine's one just recently. She keeps me busy enough!

Looks like 5 from your intro!

Well its strange you should say this. I too love the creative process of the early hours, and when it comes to writing songs, its just the most fabulous time. But, Like your situation, Julie, my partner loves nothing more than turning in a 10pm. Couple that with my current Steemit regime and it makes for alot of potential problem.
We have agreed to set aside time for each other and steemit - its the only way really. Steemit is consuming me - like going down the rabbit hole, a 10 minute browse of post always ending up being an hour plus.
Couple all this with working day and its time for that plan to be set in place! Good food for thought.

Yup, steemit was ruining me for my first two months, especially trying to get 2 posts a day out with a fulltime job and Mila being <1 year. I've found a better rhythm lately and have started branching out to zappl for a few posts to shorten the length. Otherwise I'm trying lofty articles too often. At some point I want to be using all the different applications on here. I try to carve out about an hour a night and my lunch break and get a post in and comment as much as possible. The site is awesome and I want to be involved, but it can't take over my life while I'm working full-time

It's ruined me too. It's so addictive. I don't think I've ever had a site pull me in this much. I just have such a love of writing and reading. It's really pushed all the right buttons for me. Something like finding water in a desert. I've found something I was really lacking. And I've noticed how your posts have been relevant, to even the few short conversations we've had about the site and things in general. You're on point. I think you're noticing the right things.

I try to be aware of things, sometimes I fail haha

The mornings are probably the most productive time in our days.

Every time I have a lot of things to do and I lose my morning for whatever reason, it feels like losing the whole day!

I think your productivity will increase by being more active in the morning, but of course, you will also feel more tired around 12 or 1 am.

Keep us updated!

Will do, ya I'm hoping to get more done, some yoga/running, some writing, and maybe get some more showers in or even relax on my porch with a book when it's nice!

Lol I do the same with the alarms in the morning. As far as habits, I NEED to return to a daily meditation routine. I feel so streesed and on edge with out it.

I know what you mean with meditation, if I don't do it I feel like things get to me much more easily, I'm a big fan of meditating during the spare minutes I have in my busy day, especially when walking around. Just relaxingly exploring the current experience is a meditation in itself!

Welcome to steemit :)

you know I used to stay up until midnight most nights also, until about 7-8 years ago, now in bed by about 10:30. Not sure I sleep any better or get more sleep, or actually need the extra sleep but it is good for the relationship. Glad you are thinking about that part of things. Have to keep the relationships strong.

Ya, I do love a good late night, but this will help in other ways, Karen was telling me that she learned morning hours are our creative hours in the Ayurvedic class she's taking

well I can't say that is true for me, I am actually much more productive at night, late nights more. I think it depends on the person. I don't mind getting up early but I tend to not get much done when I do. Karen is a hard worker, she probably is highly productive all the time. :)

Ya she usually gets stuff done before her down time at night

Ahh, this is so relevant.

To be honest, I'm so like you on these things. I also have a partner who goes to bed early and wakes with the sun. Never had a problem with it. And I, on the other hand, have just always been a night owl. And I'm also the one who loves to write.

I think the nighttime can be so fruitful for writing and thinking and pondering and all that good stuff, which I love to do. Probably too much. Definitely too much, at times. When I'm given the time for it, I will use it to do just that. And it's not inherently bad in itself, but it can form a bad habit and mess with your body rhythm. It's not healthy, and that's the truth. I've lived with and around shift workers and I've seen what swing and late night shifts can do to a person. Can take years off a life and make you sick.

So yeah, I fight to keep myself on an earlier schedule too. I fix it and then I slip a little at a time until I'm staying up too late again. It's a discipline issue, completely. And one that will show effects in time if not made right.

And I like the mornings for yoga too. I hate the days when I don't get my morning yoga in. It just doesn't feel as good. It doesn't feel as balanced or healthy for me.

I've always either worked contractually for months at a time and then off again for months, and during the time not working it's so easy to slip. Discipline is hard and especially with how we schedule our time. And now, I'm about to start a new job and so my schedule should naturally become more of a normal one just due to that fact.

But yeah, you need to spend time with your loved ones. You need to have that time to connect. Don't take that for granted, don't neglect it. There are certain rituals in our house regarding this that we do every day, like meal times, just certain things that we stop everything to do, no matter what. Never eat alone if someone else is home. Make a point to do it together.

And the sedentary nature of writing. That's the eternal issue with enjoying writing and reading. You have to sit to do it. I do listen to audiobooks sometimes. But generally, you just have no other choice, you have to sit. Sometimes I like to veg out, but other times I really hate that it's that way. I've set myself up a standing desk to help with this predicament and it has helped. I also use a yoga ball for sitting when I absolutely have to, if I'm doing online work from home. It gives some wiggleability and keeps me in mind to move around a bit more.

I'm working on it all too. You're not alone lol.

(Oh, and I see now that's a doggo not a horsey. It so looks like a horse to me in your profile pic. I think I'm just hunting associations anywhere I can. It's my fun. Don't take it from me! :P)

think the nighttime can be so fruitful for writing and thinking and pondering and all that good stuff, which I love to do

Yup, actually, we've sucked at getting up early so I'm gonna stay up late tonight and meditate/write, it's the best time, nice and quiet. Crazy thing is, as long as I meditate it doesn't phase me, I was getting 4-5 hours and feeling totally fine. Once I start working out hard that might change...

As much as I want to get up early for yoga, I don't know if it will happen til summer, gf is wiped lately and I have to meditate daily, haven't gotten up early because of baby and other things, but got some amazing yoga in last night. Just read some Spira and did yoga after.

What kind of work are you starting? Gonna be able to start posting or what?? haha. Gary V says to document, not create. Looks like you could write some of these posts, just gotta beat me to the punch or post a reply/spinoff!

Awesome you have a standup desk, I have one at work and then just put my laptop on my kitchen counter lol

doggo not a horsey

LOL someone else thought dragon

Yeah, I can run on low sleep too. I always have been that way. Late nights and short sleeps and back at it again. I just love to do things. I hate having to slow down. And when I get a truly creative idea, I'm just on. Full steam. lol. Or Steem, rather, nowadays. (Totally free to pick me apart there.) I know it's not the best. Sometimes I just have creative energy off the charts. Almost registers as anxiety if I don't get it out and processed. Sounds like I'm describing a manic episode, but it's not. I know it's not. It's just energy. I'm thankful for it while I'm still young and have it like I do. I hope I don't lose it for a very long time.

And yeah, it's turning spring. My active hobbies come out to play when the weather warms up. That's hiking, camping, biking, and always walking. I walk no matter what. I'm actually kind of sad when the winter goes. It can be so humid here. It's a humid kind of hot.

Well, if I get the job it'll be full-time online proctoring for college exams. I find the weirdest jobs. I'm a big fan of the flexible hour type jobs, and the telecommute type jobs. I wish I could just get paid to write. It's my pipe dream, as it is for so many others. Okay, to be honest, I want to be Neil Gaiman. Or as a lovely lady, I'd be his wife, Amanda Palmer. Or just both of them all balled into one, with a tiny dose of me mixed in to keep it original. I've also got an offer outstanding to come work on residential housecleaning for a relative of mine's business. So it's either flexible work or something where I can daydream. And I love something physical, I feel tired at the end of the day, but it's a good kind of tired.

And yeah, I knew it was a dog, but I think the B&W gives it a dreamy kind of feel. Looks like a sad unicorn on first sight to me. I wonder who else has thought that too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50