First New Years With My Daughter

in #life7 years ago

Last night was pretty low key for New Year’s Eve. My girlfriend Karen had to work til 3AM so it was just me, Lola, and the bebe. It was quite a party in the living room. Most of the night was spent playing with toys meant for tiny people with Mila, doing dad stuff, making dinner, and playing in the 50SBD poker tourney (5th place! thanks @lucksacks).

IMG_20180101_155320.jpg

Apologies for the finger

While I would have loved getting a babysitter and going out on the town with Karen, I had a blast with my two other girls. Early in the day we got a bit of sunshine out walking at the trail in town. It was a gorgeous day and not too cold. On the way back I decided to stop and fill up my tire at the gas station. Turned out the compressor was off and I drained most of my tire. I was changing it when a guy who saw me warn someone else offered to run and grab his portable air compressor. He gets my good guy of the day award, which is a thing I just made up. Good thing too because Mila was getting a little upset.

We had lunch with mama bear on her break before she went to her other job. Then we settled in for the night. Put Mila's PJs on early and spread all her new X-mas gifts on the floor. I actually wanted to get this post out last night, but she was a terror. Anytime I started steemiting she came over and yelled at me, or tried to play with the computer, or cried for food. She's a total punk sometimes haha.

IMG_20171229_175721.jpg

I did sneak the poker in and just decided to play with her and hang out with Lola til she slept. Once she went down it was Lola's turn to demand some attention. Fireworks started going off. For any of you dog owners with dogs that are afraid of fireworks, you might guess what came next.

I thought Lola would be OK cowering in our closet, but no, she decided to bust into Mila's room and force her way past boxes and bags in the closet there. By some miracle baby stayed asleep, but I dealt with Lola trying to find a good place to hide the rest of the night. Even snuck some reading and meditation in at the end.

IMG_20180101_120033.jpg

Overall it was a great night, sometimes simple nights in are my favorite. Even though the girls were a bit high maintenance all night they were still a lot of fun. I rarely feel like I'm missing out on too much by not going out and being social. Sometimes I like simple days, relaxing at home, having a nice walk, reading, cooking, meditating.

Happy New Years Everyone! If you enjoyed the post, puppy, and baby upvote, resteem, and follow me!

Sort:  

Happy New Year Jakey! I had a low key NYE too, worked on my first newsletter until 2am with my gf in Hong Kong. Thanks for putting so much work into your writing. Following you now!

Hey man I really appreciate it! Low key is my new thing haha, besides, first newsletter is a milestone. Hope you had a good one and your 2018 is the best yet. I'll keep checking out your stuff, thanks for the follow!

I have to admit I enjoy seeing new pictures of Mila that we don't have yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82