What to do when your creative juice runs dry?

in #life6 years ago

Hello, my fellow steemians. I had been on a hiatus on Steemit since October last year and only came back this January. I have been a "bit" busy with two shifts of accommodation and additional responsibilities at work but the main reason for my hiatus is the subject of this post today. Even as of now while writing this, I am still struggling with what words to say to make this enjoyable to read.

aid1502531-v4-728px-Make-Fresh-Mango-Juice-Step-4.jpg

So, everybody, that deals with production whether content or art can say that they know what I am talking about here. There will come a point in time where you just can't make content or art that you are proud of or you yourself are not satisfied with it. It happens to the best of us and it happens to us that are just starting to explore content creation. So, what can we do when our creative juice runs dry? The bellow points are just my opinion and the things that I realized while I was struggling with this problem.

  1. Don't force it.
    1024x0-pulling-door-open-cartoon-125274.jpg
    The one thing you don't want to do is force yourself to make content. Something that is enjoyable will become tiring very fast if you are forced to do it and especially when the results are not satisfactory to you. I found out this one the hard way as I forced myself and it backfired taking me more time to recover.

  2. Find another outlet.
    cartoon-followcrowd.png
    Find another creative thing to do. Go back to the first thing that let you access your creativity or learn new ways to show it. There are multiple ways to show our creative side and if one is not working for you at the moment then find another way. You can also try changing what you are doing in some way. An example of this is in photography; if you are always doing landscape photography and you feel that you are getting tired of it then try street photography or macro photography, or any other genre of photography.

  3. Relax and find leisure.
    relax-clipart-cartoon-9.jpg
    The last thing you want is to make something you love become tedious so relax and do leisurely things. It is OK to take a break once in a while and enjoy yourself. Sometimes we just need to go away and recharge our batteries so that when we come back we are able to do things with more energy.

I was able to recharge my creative juice by doing all three of the above and thankfully I am back here writing and sharing with this wonderful community my thoughts and opinions. Hopefully, this will help some of you and please comment if it did. Have you experienced your creative juice running dry also? If so, please share what you did in order to overcome it. I also want to know other ways on how to bounce back from such a thing.

all photos were sourced from google image search

Sort:  

I feel you. 😅

It is a real struggle that is why I want to share here how I bounced back from it. 😊

been posting continuously for 5 days now... and i ran out of words now 😅😅😅 so i guess ill sleep without any good post hahaha... ive lots to post like travels and all... but cant compose any 😅😅😅 well,,, theres always tomorrow hahahaha

Just pace yourself and never ever force it. In the end, you must get back the feeling of why you like sharing and writing with this wonderful community. 😊

Thank you.. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50