(IJCH) Well, this is Awkward - Returning lost Wallets

in #life7 years ago (edited)

imaawk.jpg

(IJCH) Well, this is Awkward - Returning lost Wallets

From the Author

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure to make your acquaintance, it's always nice to meet a fellow Steemian.

I have tried to return lost wallets a few times in my life.

And everytime was a different experience...

imatw.jpg

Identity Crisis

The first time I returned a lost wallet that I found on the road, I learned a few things about life.

As soon as I got home with the lost wallet, I posted the enclosed ID (picture only) on Facebook and text the number on a SIM punch-out card inside a side pocket of the wallet.

The next day I got a response on Facebook, a message from the number I had text earlier and met the wallet's owner.

Sure as day, the man who came to collect his wallet (and the money in it - about $60) looked like the ID photo.

I psychologically patted myself on the back. But I was very disappointed (and angry) a day later.

Why?

The true owner showed up.

On the previous day, I had given his estranged twin brother his wallet!

imaglmm.jpg

Show Me The Money!

Another time, after posting the ID again and notifying the local radio station about a lost purse I found outside a mall, a lady came to claim it - with her 10 year-old son in tow.

She appeared overjoyed that someone was nice enough to try to return it.

Satisfied that yes, she was the rightful owner of the purse. I surrendered it to her (all previous amounts of money intact).

Two days later, she knocked on my door (again, with her son dutifully at her side). She was angry that most of her money was not in the purse that I returned to her and was demanding it back.

I said that I didn't take one centavo and that it's a shame that she lost her money.

Then she became hostile and said, "Shame on you! You are a rich foreigner and you still steal money from poor people like me? I'm going to the police!"

I said, "Look lady, it's obvious that you are upset. But if you think I am going to replace the money that I did not take, you are sadly mistaken. Go ahead and go to the police. Tell the Captain that JaiChai says hello."

Accepting the futility of any more effort, she left in a huff.

The next day, the lady showed up again. This time it was to apologize.

Her son had stolen the money...

Imagine that?

Namaste,

JaiChai

Many thanks for reading my post. And if you enjoyed it, please: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.

- JaiChai "My mind was a terrible thing to waste..."

2017-05-03_12.15.34-465x551.jpg

About the Author

He is a retired U.S. Military veteran. Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic. In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

He spends his days on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Parting Shot -

imagevbc.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78