(IJCH) THE Scariest Text I Ever Got - (11 y/o Daughter from school: "Dad, Please bring napkins, I'm bleeding.") OMG! - In Retrospect, Freakin' Hilarious!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) THE Scariest Text I Ever Got - (11 y/o Daughter from school: "Dad, Please bring napkins, I'm bleeding.") OMG! - In Retrospect, Freakin' Hilarious!

Shocked-William-Shatner-Star-Trek.gif
Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (meaning: My warped, personal opinions and musings)

From the Author

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Macho Warrior Panics!

Background:

I am a retired U.S. Military veteran.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, I freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

I've been in way too many hazardous situations to mention.

And if it wasn't for my training, I could not have remained cool, calm and collected while others around me panicked.

BUT...

One morning I received this text from my 11 y/o daughter while she was at school:

"Dad, Please bring napkins, I'm bleeding."

Holy Sh*t!

With shaky fingers, I immediately replied with:

"Understand. Be there ASAP. Love, Dad."

"Damn, I wasn't trained for this one!" I thought, "Sweet Bhudda on a cracker, help me - please!"

Source

Throwing on a T-shirt and jeans, I ran out my front door and hopped on my motorcycle.

Then, breaking the speed limit, I raced to the supermarket.

The Supermarket Debacle

I ran through the store and headed straight to the "women's needs" aisle.

But when I got to the shelves of feminine napkins, I had no idea which ones to buy? Wings, no wings, heavy days, light days, overnight ...WTF?!

In a panic, I grabbed two of the female store employees and pleaded with them for assistance.

One woman proceeded to ask me one rapid-fire question after another - questions that I had absolutely no answers for.

"Sir, do you need wings, no wings, heavy days, light days, overnight...?"

"Ma'am, if I knew what I needed, I wouldn't be asking for your help."

She acted as though I hadn't said a single word and went right back into her 50 questions routine.

Losing my patience, I interrupted her monologue with, "I don't f@ckin know! My 11 y/o daughter is at school experiencing her first f@ckin period!"

After my rude outburst, the second employee just walked off.

I remember thinking, "Imagine that? That bitch just walked away, totally dissed me, simply gaffed me off? WTF?!"

To make matters worse, the one employee that hadn't ditched me - so far - began asking me her same damn questions again!

That's when I totally lost it.

unnamed (1).gif
Source

"Listen to me. My 11 y/o daughter is having her FIRST MENSTRUAL CYCLE. My little girl became a woman this f@ckin morning and you're wasting my time playing f@ckin jeopardy!"

Just when I was ready to blow my last gasket, someone behind me said, "Excuse me, Sir."

I swivelled to face the voice and was surprised to see the employee whom I thought had abandoned me earlier.

She was holding a shopping basket filled with feminine napkins, disposable wash cloths, hydrogen peroxide for blood stains, ibuprofen, a "Your First Period, Congratulations" pamphlet, and a small bottle of spray-on floral perfume.

In other words, instead of pulling a runner on me, she was gathering everything that my daughter needed.

And with a genuine smile, she handed me the basket of items.

"Sir, maybe you should calm down before you bring that to your daughter. Children tend to pick up on even the slightest panicky vibes from a parent."

Suddenly, I felt like a class "A", number one a$$hole.

unnamed (2).gif
Source

Profusely apologizing to both employees, I went to the checkout counter and joined the queue. Surprisingly, a manager took me by the hand to another cashier that was just opening her checkout station; meaning: I was now at the head of this new line.

It was very kind of them to help me, especially when I was so rude earlier.

I made a mental note to remember those people during the holidays and reciprocate their kindness.

At My Daughter's School

Hurdling the student turnstile, I looked straight at the startled, sitting security guard squarely in the face and said, "Don't EVEN TRY TO IT. You don't make enough money for the bodily harm I guarantee will happen, son."

Wisely, he acquiesced to my fatherly advice.

Or maybe it was my frustrated, reflexive, and utterly primal, U.S. Marine Corps "AAAARGH!" that did it? Whatever.

Source

He quickly stifled any thoughts of delaying me and moved his chair aside.

With his silent mouth still wide open, he gave me wide berth, and pointed to the nearest stairwell leading to my daughters third floor classroom.

Taking the stairsteps two and three at a time, I arrived at my daughter's classroom, sweat soaked, with moto-head hair that resembled multiple chopsticks stuck into the top of my head, and clutching the plastic bag full of my daughter's supplies.

I'm sure I looked like a crazed suicide bomber.

Her classroom door was open and her friends saw me before she did.

In unison, the whole class started chanting, "Dad-dee, Dad-dee, Dad-dee..."

My daughter appeared in the doorway and I walked to her. I knelt down, hugged her and said, "You OK, kiddo? We can go home, if you want."

My daughter opened the bag of supplies and took a quick visual inventory.

Satisfied, she gave me a kiss and said, "I'm fine, Dad. Thanks a lot. Go home."

While she hugged me goodbye, she added, "And Dad, that little vein above your left eyebrow is pulsating again. That means that maybe you should chill out. I love you. See ya later."

And with that, she skipped back into her classroom.

Imagine that?

Try as I might, nobody would empathize with my manly, panicky plight.

No comiseration.

Zip, nada, nothing.

I almost feel cheated.

Oh the humanity!...

Source

By JaiChai

Thanks for stopping by.

600800.jpg
Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single father and actively pursuing his varied passions (writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - and more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

400.jpg

Source

If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

"I appreciate all your support."

Sort:  

@jaichai nice writing, and very entertaining!

Thanks a lot, @thoughts-in-time!

I want to laugh at this. Remembering how my dad used to get pre-occupied when we got to that aisle. You narrated this story in a very funny way. This is a real struggle for most men. Girls too at the beginning, But now I go to that aisle like a real queen.

Apparently when it comes to women, no (military) training in the world can prepare us men for some of the tasks that come with being a boyfriend, husband, father or grandfather... Thank you for sharing and don't forget to give her lots of love, understanding and cuddles!

@nyackgrote,

Thank you so much for dropping by.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Your welcome

Very good ! I really imagine everything, it must have been difficult to assume (laughs). I think your little girl had no problem with that and she even tried to reassure you in the end. A lot of humor, I love it.

@marie2018,

Thanks so much for visiting and commenting.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JaiChai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Every man's dilemma. lol
There are times our masculine self goes into vacation.

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

New_Intro.gif

This post is Powered by @superbot all the way from Planet Super Earth.

Follow @superbot First and then Transfer 0.100 STEEM/STEEM DOLLAR to @superbot & the URL in the
memo that you want Resteemed + get Upvoted & Followed By @superbot and 1 Partner Account.

Your post will Appear in the feed of 1000+ Followers :)

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With @superbot

#Note - Please don't send amount less than 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar ,Also a post can only be resteemed once.

Thank you for using @superbot

If you would like to support this bot , Please don't forget to upvote this post :)
Stay Super !

New_Intro2.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46