(IJCH) Comment/Reply to a Fellow Steemian Author - "White Trash. I Love 'Em!"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) Comment/Reply to a Fellow Steemian Author - "White Trash. I Love 'Em!"

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (meaning: My warped, personal opinions and musings.)

From the Author

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure to make your acquaintance, it's always nice to meet a fellow Steemian.

At the behest of a new Steemian friend @majes.tytyty, I am submitting this story. Many thanks to @majes.tytyty.

JaiChai

Trailer Trash. I Love 'Em.

I read this wonderful true story just now:

https://steemit.com/life/@hollylee/white-trash-stories-from-the-deep-south-advice-from-my-favorite-aunt

and replied to the author with this:

@hollylee

Enjoyed your story immensely.

RE: Your Post

As a lowly ranked enlisted serviceman stationed at NAS Cecil Field, Jacksonville, FL in the early 80's, I and a buddy shared a mobile home about 20 minutes off-base.

It was the classic White Trailer Trash community: Very high unemployment - especially among the working age males, a drug den, a "rest/pickup stop" for hookers of various dubious ages, Alcohol Anonymous' Recidivism Hell and ironically, a "stationary" gypsy-like camp.

Funny thing.

Since we had steady paychecks - albeit, miniscule, we were considered rich, young and available among the females in the trailer park. It was not uncommon for neighbors (both men and women) to come knockin' at odd hours with faux tales of woe, just to get a free beer and watch our cable TV.

One day, a female neighbor woke me up at 3:30a.m. and was hysterical. She said the trailer park community had acted as judge and jury to a friend of her's and beat the "holy sh*t out of him"!

Since I was a Medic, I grabbed my "Johnny Gauge" bag (I know. Most of y'all are way too young to remember shows like "Emergency", "Hillstreet Blues", "St. Eleswhere", "M.A.S.H." and "One-Adam-Twelve", etc.) and followed the distressed woman to her trailer.

The "guilty" perpetrator was semi-conscious and mumbling sporadically. But his vital signs were stable and pupils were PERRLA (equal, round, reactive to light and accomodating).

He was oriented X 3 (person, place and date/time), covered from head to toe in varying viscosities of drying blood, multiple lacerations and abrasions (from being dragged by his ankles over the whole perimeter of the park's asphalt), multiple contusions (from hundreds of kicks to his torso and head), a dislocated shoulder and possibly, a few broken ribs.

I think the only reason he was still conscious and not screaming his head off in pain was probably due to - what I suspected - a huge amount of chemically induced "courage", exacerbated with copious amounts of tequilla.

In fact, he kept mumbling for more alcohol as I fixed him up.

I quickly put a plastic cervical collar around his neck, immobilized his shoulder with a sling made from the ubiquitous, government issue, green triangular bandage and then attended to his other, less serious injuries.

With wounds cleaned and dressed, ribs taped and two bags of (Normal Saline, then Lactated Ringer's) IV drip infused, he was snoring like a baby on the neighbor's rat-infested, soon-to-be-fossilized living room couch.

I told her to make sure he get's a check-up at the public clinic as soon as possible for an X-Ray.

Before going back to my place, my neighbor showed her appreciation for my help and gave me her legendary, trademark "thank-you" (I will leave that form of thank-you up to your imagination) and promised to get the injured man a check-up ASAP.

After her "special thank-you", I got dressed, picked up my bag and headed out the door. But before leaving her trailer, I asked, "What was this guy's heinous crime?"

"He raped one of our own yesterday night," she said, non-chalantly.

"Oh yeah? Who?" I inquired, just curious.

With a half-smile, she said, "Me."

Imagine that?...

##########

I am still very new on Steemit, but not to writing. Obviously, you enjoy your craft and have been doing it for a long time, no? For me, it's great to meet a fellow writer.

Please keep penning more wonderful stories. If you don't, you are truly wasting your authoring gifts; and depriving people like me from vicariously tagging along with you on your future adventures.

Upvoted you and following you now.

Namaste (prefered definition: "I recognize the divine in you, my friend."),

JaiChai

P.S.

Writer Joke: "Everytime I use a semi-colon, I'm actually just rolling the dice!"

By JaiChai

Many thanks for reading my post. And if you enjoyed it, please: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem. - JaiChai "My mind was a terrible thing to waste..."


"I'm sexy, no?" (Selfie of my longtime Filipina girlfriend - JaiChai)

About the Author

He is a retired U.S. Military veteran. Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic. In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

He spends his days on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Sort:  

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Man becomes great exactly in the degree in which he works for the welfare of his fellow-men.

- Mahatma Gandhi

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Thank you for sharing the story with everyone including on my post. You described the people and the setting beautifully.

Your kind words made my day.

Thanks, amiga.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28