Social Aspects of Steemit is really great!

in #life7 years ago

I have a Facebook account, but I rarely use it. I have a Linkedin account and I barely use it. I have a twitter account and I only use it to tweet my Steemit articles and posts. I have a Steemit account and I use it every day!

Hardfork 0.16.0

As we sit here today in the midst of a major hardfork, which will change the financial mechanics moving forward, I realised that I am actually more hooked on Steemit than I ever thought. It is all about the people! One of the things that I learned in life, especially in the IT industry , is that when something works, Leave it alone :) I am sure that a lot of the ICT guys will agree with that statement.

In my opinion this is one of the things that is so good about Steem and the community… and that is that when they see something is not working, they change it for the better. Will the hardfork be good or bad for Steemit, well we will have to wait and see. Imo I believe it might be a step into the right direction!

Steemit is not Facebook it is exponentially better!

Well, I have never really been a Facebook guy, as for me Facebook is a place for family to share pictures and have a chat. I have never made any new friends on Facebook. Maybe because I did not find it as excited as I find Steemit :)

I have however made yet another friend this past weekend when I met @lemouth - Particle physicist and professor in physics and one of the members of the SteemSTEM project. He is visiting South Africa, to present at a conference in the Kruger National Park.

If you are not following @lemouth yet, you should … He is probably the single most cleverest person I have met in my life on this planet :) What a wonderful family loving guy who thoroughly enjoys what he is doing!


@jacor and @lemouth after a few bottles and wine (and a few cocktails :)

On my usual African subject…

Speaking about enjoying what one are doing, I read a very interesting article today about how Bitcoin's marketcap is larger than many countries Fiat currencies and yes you guessed it… Most of these are African Countries.

Currently, the market cap of Bitcoin is significantly larger than many of the national currencies in African, Middle Eastern and South American countries.

More importantly, the value of Bitcoin has demonstrated a lower volatility rate compared to some major reserve currencies, such as the British pound.


Image Credit

I am truly excited to see what the future holds after the next fork! Let's wait and see :)

Happy Steeming


If you enjoy my articles please follow me on my blog at @jacor

I am writing a series of articles about problems in Africa, which will be followed with how we can use Blockchain solutions to resolve the problems.

Blockchain WILL solve problems in Africa and other developing countries
Developing countries should embrace blockchain and cryptocurrency
Blockchain in Africa - The Unbanked
Blockchain in Africa - Fraud and Corruption
Blockchain in Africa - Access to capital

Sort:  

"Steemit is not Facebook it is exponentially better!".... So true

Exactly !

That was indeed a great evening, and I learned a lot about Africa!

I don't think that there can be any doubt that Steemit somehow encourages people to reach out and connect with one and other far beyond superficiality. It is amazing. Can you imagine the next Steem fest? The curation guilds, Authors working together. Steemians mutually supporting each other. It's a beautiful thing.

Indeed @benjojo, I was sitting here today thinking about how many people I recently met across the world. It is indeed a beautiful thing!

Steemit indeed allows us to meet different people easily. On other social media, it is indeed more complicated (or even impossible).

Nice seeing more dots connecting everyday :)

Your turn to come to South Africa @kevinwong :) I guarantee you will enjoy it!

Let's all meet there ^^

hey! That's my brother in law :-) He is pretty smart indeed! :-)
Glad you had a good time! SteemStem is such a good project.

Hi @cryptoctopus, We had a great time and very nice chats. I think you must join him and the rest of the family for the next visit! How about coming through and be a speaker and the next Steem Saturday in 2017!

haha, keep me posted. I didn't plan to go all the way to south africa yet but I'll consider it for sure :-)

Will keep you posted.

We will discuss that over Xmas ^^

And even the @grandpere makes his greetings! A visit to Africa, why not?

@grandpere great to meet you :) More than welcome to join the great African Adventure :)

mycket trevli

You (some anyway) sound like a bunch of stoned hippies commenting on the wonders of the pipe. Maybe you are stoned?
It's great to be excited, but...
When Steemit has more reach, and realizes some semblance of real network effect...maybe...
When it can handle more post types, and the interface improves...maybe...
When the preponderance of bots becomes less intrusive...maybe...
Enjoy but be a bit realistic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69