What do you look for in a partner?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is an open question to single Steemians, although those who are in a relationship are welcome to chime in with their perspectives as well.

What do you look for in a potential partner? What criteria lead you to immediately exclude someone from consideration, and what draws you to someone else?

Suppose I take the plunge and mention some possible parameters based on my own prejudices, with tongue planted firmly in cheek for some of the commentary.

sunset couple
Image credit

Race

Must be human, unless perhaps we discover intelligent alien life. Skin color is irrelevant in any case. Tentacles, a carapace, or amoeboid shapes are turn-offs though.

Gender

I am straight. Approximately 50% of humanity is dismissed out of hand. Deal with it.

Age

Approximately my own age, perhaps up to 10 years younger or as much as 5 years older. This is less concrete though, merely serving as an abstract framework that could be discarded should I meet the right person. And if that right person is a wealthy octogenarian on life support, so be it.

Build

Neither morbidly obese nor an emaciated skeleton. There's a healthy range of physiques between those two extremes. I appreciate a physically fit physique, and know I need to stay in some semblance of shape myself. Contrary to popular rumor, round is NOT an appropriate human shape.

Side note: fake boobs are just weird, and other implants weirder still. A woman's natural shape is usually proportionate straight from the factory. A boob job is the equivalent of putting a massive wing on the back of an '89 Honda Civic: It gets attention, but it serves no good purpose whatsoever. [/rant]

Habits

Someone who wants fragrances everywhere is a dead end for a relationship. Perfumes and scented products in general are a problem, too. I also look for someone who seems comfortable in her own skin rather than plastering on makeup.

I don't care if someone smokes, but if they do, they're off the list. I have health issues, and I can't tolerate tobacco smoke or people who smell like ashtray. I also don't care if people do drugs, but I'm probably going to stay away from that mess too. Alcohol consumption in moderation is fine, but if someone is prone to drunken partying, I pretty much guarantee a personality clash for other reasons too...

Personality

Speaking of which, I am an introvert. An extrovert who demands I act extroverted will literally kill me. On the other hand, an extrovert who leaves me alone to be peacefully introverted would be fine. Another introvert might be a comfortable quiet companion, or might be boring as hell. A strange sense of humor is absolutely essential though. If she can't keep up with HHGTTG & MST3K references, or appreciate occasional snippets of silly songs and Tom Lehrer tunes, it ain't gonna work out. And if she hates cats, she's a terrible person.

Hobbies

She doesn't have to share mine, but she'd better not tell me to abandon them. She must be a bookworm though. I like a lady who can appreciate my large library.

Politics

Where someone falls on the left/right spectrum matters less than where they are on the libertarian/authoritarian spectrum. I'm an anarchist, and don't want to find myself in a domestic matriarchal monarchy.

OK, let's be realistic. I am looking for a benevolent dictator rather than a tyrant. I've seen enough marriages to know how it works in the real world.


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.85 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

She must be beautiful, rich and without problems :-)

I like the danger zone!! I love gingers, white skin, red hair and freckles.
Awesome video!!
LOL
Resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47