Troubles and trials

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes you find yourself in the company of people who will lift you up when you're down. Other times, you're stuck with those who, whether intentionally or not, take every opportunity to kick you while you're down. The former lift a burden from your shoulders. The latter gleefully add weight so they can see you crushed beneath it. Even when this kind of toxic behavior is not malevolent, there is a callous sociopathic disdain exuded by those entirely ignorant of the effects of their words and deeds.

Whether unintended or deliberate, it is a curse on everyone around such people. Condescending, haughty, pompous, and/or hollowly self-righteous, but always evil. It is like a vampiric drain on life. It is utterly poisonous. It turns minor hurdles into complete roadblocks. It turns a relationship into a bitter ordeal. Worst of all, whether ignorance or malice is behind it, confronting the problem can feel like another insurmountable obstacle. What if confrontation makes the monster worse?

I have no answers. Just my own problems.

Maybe I should post some vaguely empowering inspirational bullshit.

Nope.

Sort:  

Yep, been there. And on one hand you want to let them know, but on the other hand is it really worth it? I'm trying to share my own vaguely empowering BS, but am exhausted and should be sleeping rather than typing. I guess for me, I was really trying to exercise boundaries, but had the most success when we moved out of state. That's probably not an option for you, and certainly I'm not suggesting you run from challenges, but I'll just send you a virtual pat on the back and tell you that you're not alone on this one.

You get more than the usual 10% upvote for that.

Thank you. No necessary, but appreciated. You seem like a genuine person and that honesty probably intimidates people whether they realize it or not. No one likes their reality questioned. When we started to "wake up" to the realities of our government, big pharma and more- it really put a strain on most of our relationships. Our families just wanted us to quiet down, and be more like everyone else. Somehow my decisions to not vaccinate, or to homeschool felt like insults or judgements to them. I finally had to step away. Not my circus, not my monkeys...

Your specifics are different, but the point is that people who live genuinely and not following the herd, make the sheeple feel threatened and thus they lash out. Try not to take it personally. It's not you so much as what you represent.

I could be totally wrong, but that's one theory. And if I'm right, then you just keep on being you. You'll have days that suck (We all do!), but most of the time you'll be able to ignore the monsters and their pettiness.

My problems involve chronic illness, among other things. People can understand deformities, cancer, or other ailments with an obvious visible symptom, but invisible illnesses are easily ignored.

Oh, I'm sorry. I had no idea.

While not nearly as severe, I can somewhat relate in the situation I experience with my daughter. She is the one I refer to often in regards to allergies and food sensitivities. She appears completely normal, and is highly intelligent, but some might say she falls under the spectrum socially. Oftentimes her gut issues manifest themselves behaviorally. Many people are insensitive to her issues because she appears normal and healthy. It's so frustrating. She's 8 and has learned how mean some people can be. It's a tough lesson at any age.

These words, they describe how I feel. Sadly, we are like mirrors we reflect on each other. I have to deal with a lot of people every day when I rather be alone most of the time.

Yes, I recently had to face this, I still can not get away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95