Sort:  

I think its just the standard chain. It was about $32 at lowes.

Yeah that is going to be a safety chain @makinstuff. I was doing some research and there is a larger variety of chainsaw chains than I previously thought.

Take a look at https://allaboutsaws.com/how-to-choose-chainsaw-chain/ and https://pickbestchainsaw.com/different-chainsaw-chain-types/

Basically if you are going to be doing a lot of cutting and hence sharpening different chains work well for different types of cut like with the grain or against the grain or hardwood versus softwood. Also some chains are easier to sharpen and require less accuracy during the sharpening process.

Cool I've been watching several videos about proper chainsaw maintenance. I grew up using them, but this is the first one I own myself. I'll do some more reading with your link. Man....I'd really love to get you out to my land sometime to do an in person workshop week. You're a huge wealth of great information sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love chainsaws @makinstuff but I constantly remind myself that they are a very unforgiving tool and try to always have a second person around when I am using one especially when felling large trees or trees in areas with dense growth because so much can go wrong so fast with them. Just go slow and be careful.

I like the idea of visiting your place but I seldom travel anywhere and with the dogs it is super tricky but who knows what the future might hold. For now I will do my best to follow what you are doing with the videos and your posts and give you my advice as I can.

The first thing to really get a good grasp on with your place is how the water flows across the surface during rain (and especially heavy rain) events and design around that. What I try to do is work with the contours (where the water flows) so that my runoff from buildings etcetera waters my gardens. Also there is a lot of good Forestry Department information out there on building water breaks and water diversions to get it flowing where you want it to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62