Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 28 Part 1

in #life6 years ago


This is a video from Day 28 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-five days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video it is cold and very windy so the audio gets a little choppy but overall it is not that bad.

I talk about the night before and being kept up late by my tooth ache. During that time of sleeplessness I decided to call the place That Old Farm and made it a blog on a social media site to act as a 'catch all' for my various activities.

I show where I add more pavers (flat rocks) to the walkway beside the shack. I show where I dismantled some more of the collapsing and compromised chimney. I explain again how the pavers are going to help keep me and the dogs from walking through the mud.

I talk some more about using the back room of the shack as a wood kiln and not wasting all the energy that I have put into the place but do to circumstances beyond my control I never actually do it.

I talk about how the high winds make it unsafe for having a fire even in my 'fire cave'.

I talk some about the overall physical discomfort I am enduring and how I just have to stay busy and keep accomplishing the things that need to be done.

I talk about the things that I 'have' to do and not having much time to do them before the warm weather arrives and the wildlife becomes active.

I go on a rant about poisonous snakes, mice and the relationship between the two and human activity.

I talk about being in 'clean up mode' and mention some of the things that entails.

As a side note: I love the tangent I get on towards the end of this video.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79