Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 38 Part 2

in #life6 years ago


This is a video from Day 38 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and eighty-one days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I show the wind-chimes that I built earlier in the day. It is worth noting that I hung one of the wind-chimes in a skinny tree growing on a road where I had noticed there was a lot of human foot traffic and the tree was beside a large multiflora (thorn bush) where I had previously noticed that someone (or something) was walking around the multifora bush and in doing so were rubbing up against the skinny tree that I hung the wind-chime in. Later that night I heard someone bump the tree and the wind-chimes rattled accompanied by them saying very loudly (what sounded like) 'What the hell!'.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

I will get the tablet out for your video (Dtube hates my Linex), but you should count on the dogs, for warning; the are Much more reliable! Looks like a good job on the chimes though. I will go look.

A year and a Half; Good job sir! :)

Sorry you are having problems with Idiots! I have heard that white grocery store bags will drive deer off, because it is like their danger flag.

Be blessed!

Ha! Yeah that video is from roughly 550-odd days ago. Not so many problems these days but I still stay vigilant. I will remember that about the white bags. I should have figured you were also a Linux user. :) Personally I can't stand any other operating systems that are not built on the Linux kernel. I have not had any problems with D.Tube using Chromium but I have not tried too many other browsers to see how they work. The videos are actually worth watching from the beginning when I start this whole whacked out journey on Day 1. :)

I will watch, when I can find 5 minutes to rub up against 10...but you know that problem! Trying to stay as far off the beaten path as possible, I use Ubuntu and firefox. Dtube is the only place I have trouble.

But it gave me an excuse to buy a tablet, LOL! So life is good, and it runs discord and dtube well. :D

Dogs are truly reliable! Mine will filter who came in the house, by screaming a greeting (so good to see you) or attacking (Give your soul to GOD, because your A$$ is MINE)! So I never have to worry about shooting a friend by mistake.

I plan to use them the same way out on the new land. :)

Haha! Indeed on all accounts especially with the dogs. If you can tolerate the profanity the videos are well worth the watching. Try giving Chromium a spin. Good luck on your new land as well. :)

As for time..yeah I know that feeling. Lately I have made a bunch of time for Steemit and D.Tube in the hopes that I can (1) connect with other folks and (2) hopefully make enough income to afford the hundred dollar minimum that I need each month to survive. So far I am doing good at number 1. As for number 2....I am not sure that the forty plus hours a week that I have given it the last two weeks has been worth it but we will see.

I have been slowed on the repair work needed to be ready to move, by my wife being sick, but she is worth it, and we will move when we can. I have finished the demolition work for wheelchair access, and am at the repair / rebuilt point. Roof damage fixed, floor is next. :D

I always like saying 'Everything takes longer than we think it will'. It sounds like you are making progress though. Are you setting it up to be off-grid?

Well, it is the best free house I have ever purchased. I bought the land, and he threw in a 16 by 74 mobile that was there, and damaged. I intended to rent it out for income, but when I went out, to measure for some repairs; I took Debbie along, and she fell in love with the place. So we are moving, and selling our house instead, LOL! *:)

I have decided to include everything I wanted over the years in a house. It will be off grid, using an Earth Battery and an energy scavenger; with two heat pumps fed by solar and wind. I will start with a 21,000 watt LiIon battery bank, with 3000 watts of panels charging and a 1700 watt wind generator (it will charge just under 500 watts at our average wind speed). I am increasing the insulation to R35, and installing high energy windows and doors. I will replumb for grey water recovery, and we will be on well water. I will put a secondary metal roof over the mobile.

I am adding two high containers (40ft long) 60 foot apart, then I will roof the opening for my shop. I will add a walipini (underground greenhouse) on a separate Earth Battery, using aquaponics to raise fish and food. A few small plans, LOL! :)

Wow that sounds pretty nice all around. It sounds like you have your work cut out for you but all in all it is not really that much to do in order to have a great home.

I have looked extensively at the lithium type battery banks but since the technology is still evolving I have been leaning more towards one or two forklift batteries as a longterm solution.

You are now the second person to mention an Earth Battery to me but I even though I have done a good bit of research about them I cannot seem to find anything really useful. If you know of a good reference about them please let me know. I would also love to know more about energy scavengers.

I have been looking at TEG modules (thermoelectric generators) and am curious if you have experimented with them at all.

A few years ago I found out about blown cellulose insulation and have been using it because it is does not off-gas so much, it is made from recycled material and in a 2"x4" wall it has an R-value of 60.

That is a pretty cool way to build a shop and I have actually been planning on doing that myself one day and often recommend that exact method to friends.

Sounds like you are going to have quite the setup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83