Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 41 Part 1

in #life6 years ago


This is a video from Day 41 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and eighty-two days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

This video was two individual videos but I merged them together because the first one was very short. I also have encoded it to 240p to help make it easier to upload over my intermittent and throttled cellphone connection.

In this video I talk about emailing the folks that had previously donated to me and giving them early access to my videos.

I talk about cutting my hair and beard and show the hack job that I did on them.

I show the progress on the 'ricking station' again and talk more about my ideas for it. I kept changing my mind about what I was doing with that project.

I talk about cleaning out the spring that is nearby but I am glad I did not in hindsight because not five feet above it's head is where someone (or many someones) had their targets for the shooting range that I cleaned up all the trash from. In other words my procrastination spared me from getting lead poisoning.

I talk about rotating the videos, compressing the videos and uploading the videos and what a tedious process it is to do all those things with a phone.

I talk about my diet and how it is affecting me but there is not much that I could do about it but eat the food that I have.

I talk about running out of propane and not wanting to ruin another stove-top espresso maker by putting it directly on the fire. I show a peculator that someone donated but explain how the metal is so thin that I am concerned that an open flame will just burn a hole through it. I talk some about my love of coffee.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62