Hearing vs. Listening (what's the difference)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Just the other day I was watching the dark comedic drama “I’m Dying Up Here”. There was a scene in which an older woman speaks of why she’d chosen her husband even though she dated his brother. Her answer was a simple one. She said her husband hears her. The person inquiring about it all said that her boyfriend is a good listener. The woman replied saying anyone can listen but hearing means they are trying to better understand. Anyone can listen but the question is do they actually hear you? 

An example is I can listen to someone speak to me in a foreign language or even my own language. Unless I understand what they are actually saying I am just listening and nothing more. 

Everyone can be a good listener but are you good at hearing.


Image Source

Sort:  

Yes, there is a vast difference between the two.
Good post.

It is amazing how many people don't see the difference. Thank you.

My guess is that her boyfriend was simply a good listener, while her husband actually did what he was told to do :-)

That's exactly it. People only listen as an empty gesture. It's like the person that say's good morning and how are you but they don't really want you to tell them how you really are...lol

I think i have read this somewhere

I'm sure you have as for the difference itself is as old as time. Most people don't care to see the difference though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58