You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Stories She Gave Me: On books and the death of my grandmother

in #life6 years ago

Thank you for posting this. I once read somewhere that no one truly dies until they are forgotten. Your words have helped me realize that we are no better off remembering someone for the loss they let us with than if we lost them entirely. If we instead remember what they have given to us and, in mourning their death, celebrate their life, the connection that we share may never be lost at all.

Sort:  

How beautifully put. Yes, let's remember what they have given to us. In addition to a love of words, my grandmother showed me how to take care of myself and gave me the drive to do it. I could see that as a negative as it happened through her lack of self-care, but the fact is she inspired me and she was very, very proud of me for treating myself the way she could never treat herself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66533.06
ETH 3491.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71