The Bane Called Perfection

in #life7 years ago

IMG_20180119_074343_812.jpg

You’ve got a great idea. Scratch that, it’s more than great, it’s genius. You can see it through the eyes of your mind, it’s perfect. Let’s make this happen. Time to bring this idea alive, but first let’s put it on paper.

This was me countless times this year. I had my highest influx of ideas so far this year. Some were even what you’d call Eureka, light bulb coming on in your head, kind of ideas. But I had one problem: perfection.

I always wanted my ideas to start off just in that perfect way I envisioned in my head. Big mistake. What this made me do was wait, and wait. I ended up wasting time that could have been put to productive use and the more I added and subtracted from what I had written down in a bid to achieve the perfect plan, the further away from my original idea I veered. Not just that, all the time I spent waiting just made it easy for doubt and fear to creep. It began to look too big and in the end I did nothing.

I’m sure that at some point in the past year, something close to this, if not exactly this, happened to you or someone you know. That bright idea you have, that excited you, that you couldn’t wait to bring to fruition, begins to lose its shine to you not because it stopped being a good idea but because you think it’s not just right. Sometimes it’s the timing, other times it’s the resources, you just want to wait till the perfect time.

But perfection is but a mirage and what you think are flaws are tiny sprinkles of perfect imperfections.

I left my blog (this one) unattended to for a while for reasons like this. I wanted to wait till I was no longer using a free plan but now when I think about it, that was just a bunch of nonsense.

Learn from mistakes and stop stalling. Start now, start simple and you’ll see things begin to fall into place with that idea, with that business, with that blog.
Cheers!!! 🍷

Sort:  

Nice write-up. In the beginning everything looks rough and blur, but as you continue to make efforts in the right direction you begin to see the beauty of your work.

Sometimes, life is just like painting or making music, it may not seem right in the beginning.

Perfection is but a mirage

Yes, thank you.

Congratulations @iyunade! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61563.75
ETH 2648.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46