Our Dream Home. BUILD DIARY. Part 1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I with my husband were building our dream home. It took about 1.5 years. We believe that this time wasn't spent, it was invested. It's not finished 100%, but almost... we don't have some furniture and kitchen yet.

Every weekend you can find me digging and delving in the garden or something like fixing the plinth to the floor. Planting, weeding, pruning, mowing and establishing. Now it's my new hobby and I love that! It’s a bit of a never-ending job but I find it really relaxing and rewarding.

OUR DREAM HOME


2.jpg

It’s incredibly satisfying building a house that you’ve designed in your head, then built it with your own hands and now be living in it. You spend so much time obsessing over every little detail and considering every aspect. And now to be using those features and seeing everything working the way we intended is a real buzz...
The sun comes into the house in the way we hoped :)) We live in the house the way we thought we would.

12.jpg

11.jpg

3.jpg

10.jpg

20170330_183306.jpg

DSC_0009.JPG

5.jpg

zzz.DSC_2044.jpg

We love a section riddled with challenges. And this challenges providing us with the opportunity to create a dream home.

7.jpg

Me in the imagine kitchen :)

8.jpg

Was built not only the house but also a strong relationship. We worked days and nights. But importantly - together!


20160618_180820.jpg

9.jpg

You know that feeling you get when something just ‘feels right’? Well that’s what we feel when wee can see the results we made.

20161009_114957.jpg

4.jpg

Wow, it’s crazy to think that we’ve been living in our house for 6 months now. We absolutely love it :)

See you soon, Iveta

To Be Continued...

If you want to see more photos about the process, STEPS FROM START TO FINISH, FOLLOW ME - @iveta


Sort:  

An astounding project. You must be really proud of yourselves. What a fantastic house. 😊 excellent post. Resteemed

Thank you for your resteem :) I'm proud of my strength, it surprised me :D

Good luck in your new home.

That took me back to my youth when my husband and I completed a complete refurb of an old victorian house that had been neglected for many years.
It took us 6 years to complete all the work and we lived in a building site for most of that time. It was a terrific learning curve for us and we had to work very hard to pay for all that we needed. When we sold that house we made a fortune, enough to buy a new build in Scotland that was so perfect that I was bored to tears - nothing needed doing! You are right about building a house has the knock-on effect of building the relationship. I hope that you two go on to greater things together! xx

this truly looks dreamy. Lucky you have a handyman for a man

Wow, thats really great! Congratulations!

congrats! This is an amazing home!

Congratulations on building your dream home. On the street where I grew up in Canada there were several families from Lithuania. Labos! (is that how you say it?)

Nice home, hard work pays at end!!!!

Šaunuoliai, labai jauku!

Hey iveta, wow this is a dream house, very very cool :)))))). I want to focus especially on newcomers but also on people that are very active. My plan is to build up a community with active users to support each other and creating a curation trail. Looking forward to curating more effectively, would you be interested? Upvoted and following, greetings Lena!

Congratulations, I am a big fan of the show Grand Designs.
http://www.channel4.com/programmes/grand-designs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31