I Would Wholeheartedly Choose Not To.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard the song Dear younger Me by MercyMe? Part of the lyrics go a little something like this, " if I knew then what I know now condemnation would have had no power my joy my pain would have never been my worth." So I started thinking, if I could write a letter to myself what would I write now that I am slightly wiser than I was then? So here it goes..

Dear younger me,

First and foremost you need to know you are beautiful. You have value. You may not believe this coming from your parents mouth. The people you meet in School, you will most likely never see again outside of social media. Let's face it social media only allows you to see what they want you to see. While everyone's lives may look perfect on the web everyone is fighting their own battles you know nothing about. The only thing you can do as hard as it may seem, is let the nasty comments bounce off you and show kindness when they choose not to. You are beautifully and wonderfully made but how will anyone else learn to love you if you cannot learn to love yourself?

You will be a mom of two beautiful children. I'm telling you this because once you have children you become fully aware of the sacrifices, love, and best interest your parents had for you. It may seem like they are against you and you almost never see eye-to-eye,which you won't because they want what's best for you and right now you could care less what happens to you. Go easy on them and one day you will come to realize exactly how amazing and generous you're incredible parents are. You will make crazy mistakes but through it all they were the ones to love you and stick by you.

Losing loved ones is hard. Don't shut yourself down from meeting new people simply because you're scared to lose them. There is a reason they were put in your life to begin with. Trust me when I say you will meet some pretty awesome people. They will affect not only your life but your kid's life in the most incredible way if only you let them.

Last but not least, you will meet several guys, and at this time in your life you will think they care deeply about you. You will feel like your self worth depends only on how much they value you. Your heart will be broken and your self worth Will dwindle down to almost nothing if you let it. You can't let it because one day when you least expect it, and certainly weren't looking for it you will meet a guy who values you not only physically but emotionally, and he will ask you for your hand in marriage. You will grow together, and he will father your two amazing children who are miracles in their own ways. Your marriage will not always be easy, but it'll definitely be worth it.

You will survive, and become stronger than you have ever been. You will learn to love yourself. I believe in you.

               -Your older self

Another part of the lyrics says," every mountain every Valley through each heartache you will see every moment brings you closer to who you were meant to be." So while I do admit life being difficult in a teenagers eyes through those times, if I was actually able to write a letter to my younger self, I believe wholeheartedly even as tempting as it would be, I wouldn't. I am Who I am today because of the heart breaks, mistakes, and choices that I made. I am proud of who I have grown up to be. If you had the chance would you? 2017-12-13_20.14.15.jpg

Sort:  

This post had me crying . Keep up the good work!

#life
TB Joshua : Every day, God has something to say to you. Even when He seems to be quiet, God is still saying something.

Love this. Thank you for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65