Count your Blessings!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It all Took place in the grocery store.

I went through the whole store trying to figure out if I had found everything on my grocery list, All while distracted by the thoughts in my head.Why don't I have more money? money.jpg

I could get Paysen something she has been begging me to get, and Christian has been wanting this hot red sports car at Walmart he would love just as much as his other million cars.

The House that we rent to own needs new flooring and the kitchen needs to be re-done. I think a dishwasher would be nice because the second I finish the dishes.. there are more dishes. Our air conditioner needs to be replaced because its really old and duct taped everywhere which barely keeps the house cool.

We have two vehicles One is reliable, but the other is beyond repair.. The headlight has fallen off, and the air conditioner refuses to work. Sometimes it likes to set off its own alarm, because it has electrical issues so it locks and unlocks itself all of the time. If only I could replace that car with something better. car.jpg

As all these "woe is me thoughts" run through my head, somehow I made it to the checkout area. I'm super nosy, so I start looking around at all of the faces trying to read their emotions. I happen to notice a mama with a small amount of groceries that are all necessities. Diapers, wipes, and such. I noticed her face turned into a sad heart broken emotion as the cashier said her card was declined.. she sadly told the cashier she was sorry, and told her she couldn't pay for it then. As a mom of two I knew those groceries were in fact necessities and my heart broke thinking what if that was me?

I noticed the gentleman behind her before she turned to leave tapped her shoulder and offered to pay. The emotion in her eyes made me tear up, because she needed this, you could just see it. She repeated over and over, "thank you! I feel so bad, you really don't have to do this!" cry.jpg

What an awesome gesture to witness. What a slap in the face to me. I may not have the nicest things, or the prettiest house, but I do have a roof over my head, food in my family's mouth, and vehicles that get us to work to pay the bills. Which is more than a lot of people can say.

So dear readers I conclude with this Quote from one of the hymns my grandfather used to sing," Count your blessings name them one by one. count your blessings see what God has done."
blessed.jpg

I may not have it all, but I have what I need and sometimes I just need a reminder.

Sort:  

I can so relate to this post. Living in South Africa we are often faced with the harsh realities of how some people live. It teaches us to help those around us and cherish what we have.

yes very true. thank you for reading!

Beautiful post 😀

Congratulations @itworks4sierra! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ScorchDojo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65