Change Your Hair and Just Don't Care.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Why is it as young children we are so fond of ourselves and our looks. Often children describe themselves as Princesses or Warriors. What changes from then, to the pre-teen years, to the teenage years? How does our self esteem become so diluted and almost forgotten. When does the view and opinion of others begin to take a huge toll on your self worth?

By the time I was a teenager my self worth and confidence was almost non existent. I had heard so many hurtful things come out of peoples mouths that piece by piece my confidence had broken away and it didn't feel like I had anything to be confident about. I was skinny to chunky to skinny to chunky. My weight had fluctuated so much that all through high school when I was tiny, I felt like the heaviest girl in the room. People put me down so much I began to put myself down even worse. I mean, If that is what "everyone" was saying it had to be true right?

me in high school

Downward Spiral
At that point, once all the confidence is gone, It didn't matter how many times you're told you are beautiful. Confidence is so easy to loose, yet extremely hard to get back. That slight second you're looking in the mirror and saying, "maybe I am pretty" is quickly faded by the voices saying you're not good enough. What a tough situation to have yourself in. When you care so little about yourself, you tend not to care about what terrible things you do and put into your body. It becomes a horrible downward spiral That is almost impossible to get out of.

When did they take your crown?
Im 26 now with two beautiful children, and an incredible husband. I look at pictures of myself back in high school, and I see a beautiful girl. My confidence is slowly building. I take pictures of myself again. I care about what goes into my body. Please understand this, when I look in the mirror I still hear those voices, but I drown them out. I look back and think I don't even have contact with so many of those people, so why did their opinion of me matter so much? How did a Princess allow all of that hate to take her crown, to lock her in a dungeon?

Me now 2017

You are beautiful, You are strong, You are loved.
I hate looking back and realizing all the years wasted, because I cared about the opinions of people who had no significance in my life. What I'm trying to say is don't let the opinions of others influence who you are. You want to color your hair blue? Do it! Don't care what others have to say, they are fighting there own battles you know nothing about. Be proud of who you are. You are the only you and no one can take that away. Be Legendary. Compliment others. Smile often. Life is too short. You are beautiful, You are strong, You are loved.

Sort:  

Great post, made me tear up a little 😀

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ScorchDojo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65