Food For Thought #2

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Source

Hello Steemians, it's been a really long time I posted here and so I thought to treat an issue that had been on my mind for the past few weeks before it ran stale on me.

'Last month, a friend of mine was supposed to help me work a personal project for something and he came with the business angle to the deal, claiming that there's no family in business. I was like: "Baba, how far na? How did we get here?" Long and short of the story, I went on with the deal and paid him in full. I took no offense in the entire episode as I took it in a very professional light'.

Now, I need to clear the air and set the record straight here: "Never say that because the person you are dealing with is a friend or family, you'd forfeit the charges or fees due to that person and do a pro Bono work; now should you say that because he's my friend or my sibling or family member, I don't need to pay him/her. Be the first supporter of their business by paying them in full and even adding more to the payments to help them get steady and strong. They'll always thank you for it and want to always do more for you irrespective.

' Last week, this friend of mine, let's call him [Taiye], wanted to do an event coming up in April and needed someone to run PR services for him to promote the event (that's what I do for a living:Digital Marketing, Brand Consultancy & Content Development) and he got referred to my brand. Taiye then comes to me and says I should help him promote his event under my brand and gives me all the details necessary. I tell him the exact amount it'll cost him and he flares up saying that he knows it's because he charged me for the service he offered me last month, that's why I am taking back my pound of flesh.

Am I wronged? Have I stepped any boundaries? I even authorized a 10% discount of my brand's services to his brand and he's still bitter about it.

Here's my moral from this story: ## Do to others what you want for yourself:

What you think?
Kindly drop comments in comments box.

Sort:  

Sad to say you havent overstepped your boundary, simple say as it goes. " its just business"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31