What Minimalism Means To Me - Minimalist Philosophy

in #life7 years ago

Minimalism does not just mean having fewer possessions or living in a tiny house. To me, it means being happy with the things you have and not seeking happiness in consumer goods.

But it wasn't always that way for me. I used to have lots of things. I had a home, car, lots of clothes, and 31 pairs of sneakers. When I think back on my sneaker collection I have to laugh a little. I took a lot of pride in my collection and even got some recognition for it. ut now I see that it was a silly thing to focus on.

Today, I have very few things (31 to be exact) and I feel pretty good about my life.

I was watching this documentary on Netflix about minimalism and there is one scene that sticks out for me. In it, the two subjects are going on a book tour to promote their minimalist book. At one stop the visit a local morning news show. At the end of the segment, the authors plug a local book signing and the host says, "Enjoy your stay in town, and don't go buying anything!" He chuckles at this and then the segment is over.

Minimalism is not just about turning away from consumerism. I still buy things. Just not (in my opinion) frivolous things. I always try to make sure the things I buy are those that I truly need.

Instead, I spend most of my money "buying" experiences. I visit friends and family. I travel to (somewhat) far away places. I take classes and, now, I buy cryptocurrency.

My lifestyle is not for everyone, however, by downsizing your possessions you will most likely be happier. Give it a try ad see what happens.

Below is a video from my YouTube channel explaining my minimalist philosophy even further. Take a look.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! I was just scrolling through documentaries on Netflix and saw The Minimalists and now have seen your post, it must be a sign- I will watch it tonight! I also used to have a lot of stuff and was an avid consumer..until I became tired of the rat race so I sold & donated 99% of my possessions in favour for a life on the road. That was over 2 years ago now, my partner and I still manage to fit our belongings into 1 suitcase! It is a truly remarkable feeling being able to pack your life up in a few minutes. Experiences vs. things all the way!

That is a great feeling! I can pack my backpack and be ready to go in about 5 minutes. I've seen that documentary twice. It's pretty good.

Thanks so much for the comment.

I have a strong minimalist lifestyle. However I am disabled so I have found there are some things I simply cannot do without . But what I have found is I buy MUCH less than I used to. And because of this it has allowed me to save time and money to pursue a hobby I truly enjoy. (And in turn it helps others).

One day I will become a pure minimalist I'm sure, I'm just not ready to make that full commitment yet. It's definately a lighter feeling having less on your life to worry about. I think I have 2 pairs of sneakers , flip flops and maybe 2 shirts and 4 t-shirts ?

That is awesome! As long as you are happy with what you have that is the most important thing.

Having more free time and money to do the things that make you happy is so important. I think too many of us are slaves to the things we own, like cars and homes. We have so much debt from the things we buy that we work for those things instead of living our lives.

Thanks so much for the comment.

Great! Fellow minimalist here! Much more fun to invest than consume. Seen Aaron clarey on youtube? Followed!

Thank for the comment. I haven't seen him but I will check him out now. Thanks for the recommendation.

Awesome I've been drawn to minimalist philosophy for some time now.

It has really worked for me. I am so much happier now. Thanks for the comment.

More Stuff = More Anxiety

I totally agree. Too often our stuff owns us.

Congratulations @isoliz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

good to see these kind of posts!!!!

Thanks for the comment. I try to put out the best content I can.

totally agree! thx for this piece @isoliz
new follower, upvoted & resteemed

Thank you so much! Followed back.

Being happy with what you have .. I totally agree.. Happiness comes from within not from outside or others. have a nice day.. :) You live in a pretty neighbour hood.

Thanks for the relpy! I have to remind myself that I have a pretty good life compared to most of the world. I have so much compared to them.

Thank for sharing you thought. I agree with that!
and also I written about minimalism . come to see my post.

https://steemit.com/kr/@joachimjo/a-study-on-minimalism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86