Minnow University Radio // Don't Give Up!!!

in #life6 years ago

Minnow University Radio // Don't Give Up!!!

Life consists of light and dark, good and bad, positive and negative.
Steemit is no different.
I think sometimes people have an idealistic expectation for Steemit to be some bubble of complete positive perfection, and they get very upset when they realize it isn't.

When Steem and SBD are down and payouts are low, people tend to get into a negative mindset.
There seems to be more complaints about vote selling, bid bot abuse, reward pool abuse, the trending page, spamming, high-quality content not being rewarded, rage quitting etc.

I understand.
Sometimes life can feel like a huge pile of suck.
Life isn't perfect and neither is Steemit, but staying in a negative space only makes things worse.

Come back from the Darkside!!!

kermit.jpeg

Whenever I'm feeling stuck in negativity I think of the Tree of Life.
One side is the Pillar of Mercy and the other side is the Pillar of Severity.
The goal is to strive for the Middle Pillar.
Recognizing the good as well as the bad, and striving for balance.

Ok, I may have just went off on a bit of an esoteric tangent there so let me put it this way.

During our Minnow University show, I was reminded of the comedian Louis CK when he was telling a joke about cell phones and being ungrateful for amazing technology.
He was talking about how funny it was to him when people complained about their cell phones, like when they didn't have a strong signal or it was taking too long for their text to go through.
He said something like "Give it a second will ya? It's going to space...will you give it a second to get back from space???"
His point was that we are complaining about this completely amazing technological invention that we all have and acting like it's a pile of garbage.
It is funny when you think about it.
Humans adapt quickly and we tend to forget that it really wasn't that long ago that we didn't have cell phones, or internet....or electricity, etc.

I can complain about my cell phone, but what is my alternative?
A landline?
Well, that sucks.

I can complain about Steemit, but what is my alternative?
Facebook?
Where I don't get paid for posting?
No, thanks.

My point here being that Steemit is the amazing invention in this case.

We can recognize the negative and become the change we want to see in the world while also recognizing the positive.

So, strive for the middle pillar, don't give up.....and give it a second to get back from space!!!!

Minnow University Radio Episode 6 Show Audio

Minnow University is brought to you by witness @swelker101 with support from @isaria and @kubbyelizabeth to help new Steemit users understand the concepts and basics of Steemit and other STEEM blockchain platforms. We have working relationships with MSP at PALnet and The Writer's Block to help educate minnows on how to grow their accounts without resorting to spam or practices that may stunt their ability to flourish on the platform. Please join us at our discord server.

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Wowsers! You are such an engaging writer. I love that you use esoteric kabbalistic spiritual examples to describe balance and then counterpoint it citing a comedian. That balance between serious and levity to deliver an important understanding.
Just awesome.
And I completely agree with your perspective.
In fact, it’s the kind of point I’ve been making regarding the heavy issue of depression. That we go through waves of life. Ups and downs. Don’t get attached to the ups and don’t get stuck in the downs. Find the balance by surfing the waves.

I agree, @nathankaye. It's a good reminder to be thankful that there even IS a platform like Steemit. I'm here for the long term, and just try to learn something new every day while enjoying writing my posts and interacting with the community.

You see what had happened was, those directions worked in theory :) Glad Shane feels at home on here. I loved listening to this recording! You guys are awesome, I will come visit you in texas soon :)

Also, I listened to the whole thing before commenting. The rest cheated! lol :)

I have wanted to say this lately in so many ways! instead i've just been trying to hug people into happiness... thanks for writing this!

haha, I needed this right now! I felt a bit down today and that Louis CK analogy is brings perfect perspective to so many of our "issues." I keep seeing your discord server this evening, I'm going to hop on over there now! Nice to see a fellow Floridian here!

Thanks for the encouragement always. And to MU for the wisdom and help.

at a point in time i felt the same way, but wat ive developed is that am just making fun if the reward comes fine,,,,is a plus for,,,tanks for the encouragement...many friends i introduced have stopped along the line,..but will continue to do my best here. who knows when our lights will shine.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #18! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

Would you kindly check my content?

Yeap! I've already read your post and listened to the video. That's why I wanted to share with other people. You're doing a great and important job!

Absolutly agree with you.. but the beginner as me really need the support of the seniors who are stay more longer ini steemit and have got many experiences. Here I really want you say even "one word" for me to alive my spirit here and it Will be a part of my past meaningful story' in future. Thanks you so much .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72