Living And Dying For A Cause.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Steemians:

The other day, while reading “The catcher in the Rye.”, I came across this quotation that said: 'The mark of the immature man is that he wants to die nobly for a cause, while the mark of the mature man is that he wants to live humbly for one.' I stopped reading for a while, and started thinking about it. Do I agree with what this psychoanalyst said? In the first place, and without giving it much thought, I said: “Yes, he’s right.” And shared it on my FB account, but after a few seconds I was like “Wait a minute, think about it! Is dying nobly for a cause really the mark of immaturity?” “Well, yes and no at the same time I’d say.” So I went back to my FB account and made the post seen by “Only me.” You don’t just share things that other people said even if you don’t agree with them just because they’re famous.
pexels-photo-978342.jpeg
(image source: pexels.com)
After thinking, I realized that I kind of agree with the quote. In my belief, it is better to live for a cause and go through hardships and give it your all than just die for it. Because once you die, it’s Game over for you, whereas if you’re still alive, you can fight for what you believe in with all your might.

I won’t deny that at a certain point in my life, I believed more in dying for a greater cause than living. Because living without a cause, or without working for that cause is no better than dying. In fact, it is worse than death itself. But once you start living for a cause, you realize that your life has a meaning and is worth living so throwing it away, even for the cause, is the end of it all. You won’t be able to achieve anything once you die. So you’ll kind of agree with what the quote said.
But you see, I don’t know what to say actually. There’s still something deep down that prevents me from totally agreeing with that psychoanalyst. I stopped thinking about it for a few days, then this man answered my question and showed me how it is like to live and die for a cause.

Legless in Gaza:

This man is, Fadi Abou Salah, a man who lived all his 29 years for a cause. This man was a Gazawi (from Gaza) who was killed by the Israelis during the protests in 14 May 2018, you all have seen him on social media.
32389228_1605290766235779_8102284164125949952_n.jpg
(Fadi's picture during the protests)

Some people might think that he’s foolish for throwing his life away, whilst others, including me, will bow in respect for this Hero. Fadi lost his legs during the protests of 2014, if I’m not mistaken, but that didn’t prevent him from protesting again during the 2018 protests where he was killed, which shows you that if you believe in something wholeheartedly nothing will prevent you from fighting for it.

Just because you died during some protests won’t make you a hero, but what Fadi and the others did deserves all our respect. Even though they don’t have an airport, electricity isn’t available 24h and they suffer from everything. They endure it because once you get out of there you’ll never be able to go back again. It was turned into a jail, but it is their homeland. They endured, and stood firm for their cause.
32821369_1607063652725157_5178848617506537472_n.jpg
(image credit to the owner.)
Everyone thought that those protests are because the Palestinians are outraged by trump’s decision to open the U.S embassy in Jerusalem. But in fact, these people have always been protesting for their rights, and they want Israel to let the Palestinian refugee to come back to their lands.

Fadi and more than 60 people were killed. (May Allah grant them Jannatulfirdaous).But their death wasn’t immaturity. They lived fighting and died fighting for a cause.

This made me realize that dying for a cause isn’t that bad, as long as you lived for the same cause. Fadi probably didn’t know that he’ll be killed, all he did was living for his cause until he died. So, living and dying nobly for a cause is the true meaning of maturity.

You, too, dedicate your life for a worthy cause.

P.S: Don't forget to pray for our Palestinian brothers and sisters. May Allah be with them.
P.S 2: You don't have to be Arab to support Palestinians!
P.S 3: You don't have to agree with this post, everyone is free to believe in whatever they want to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15