What Does It Mean To Be Human?

in #life7 years ago

Human Nature.jpg
It still manages to marvel me how superficial & imaginary boundaries, such as racism, can still exist in this day and age. How can humans act with so much hatred out of a mere difference in pigment on one's skin; obtained by simply deriving from the other side of the "same" planet. Is "Unity" really that hard of a concept that us humans struggle with? Or is it that we are all following blindly to the sound of differences, being played by the ones with money and greed. I see many reasons to join the Peace Corps and to be the very change I wish to see in this world. Even if I get to be one more statistic added to the equation that is here to benefit the concept of "life" on its most basic fundamentals. I know I can change the world with my life.

There is one particular memory that still manages to pop into the inner lobes of my brain from time to time. I was about 12 years old and remember watching the news with such horror on how so much negativity could be the only energy the world gravitated towards. I remember asking my mother about fundamental questions like: "If we need trees to breath, why are we cutting so many down?", "If "wild" animals aren't allowed to live amongst our new human society, then why are we building everywhere?" Or, "why are we so up each other's butts in which countries are better, when there is a whole universe that we don't know ANYTHING about?" These basic questions, that have yet to be answered, caused me to burst out into tears. I remember feeling so much hurt and loneliness upon receiving no justified answers' to these elementary questions. However, it was this day that I realized something huge myself. I was destined for a bigger part in this world.

From that point on, I have grown to be the man I knew the world needed. At 16, I grew so close to science and applying meaning through actual equations that could be tested, that it resulted in a backlash from my father. A backlash that developed into me becoming homeless, indefinitely. I managed to survive long enough to finalize my high school degree on my own, and jump straight into the U.S. ARMY. I was a self-made man that experienced true hardships, and still came out on top. Now, I am pursuing a degree in computer science, and have launched my own business aimed to help lower income "Mom&Pop" shops to emerge triumphant over their much larger corporate greed. I have assisted my professor on many missions to the homeless shelters, woman battered shelters and even immigration offices. I mean, I too am an immigrant from Cork, Ireland, so I know the situations at all of these shelters.

unity-hands1.jpg

Through a series of MANY unfortunate events that I have grown from, I have emerged a selfless man that really does aim to help all in a passionate scenario of fortune and love. I too am human, and I think it's time to remind others exactly what that means... Unification.

Sort:  

military discipline is not for all but who are from one of them are always respectable. I am so happy that you have wish to complete computer science degree. But one thing touched my heart that you are thinking about life, environment and about our civilization. I love people who not only think about his life but also other life. you are trying to help more people by your business idea compelled me to know your business as I am also trying to help underprivileged people in my community. Nobody will able to stop you. Best wishes for your business also :)

Thank-You So Much:)

This comment has received a 0.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87