You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Crap I Put Up with Because I’m a Girl in IT

in #life8 years ago

I have experienced first-hand what you are talking about. I have a BS in IT with a concentration in Software Development. I have been a programmer, and a Technical Writer for companies such as Google and Microsoft. Sounds good, right?

Not really. Or maybe I should say, "Yes, and no."

I have been programming since 1983 yet get paid less than men who weren't even born in 1983. I have been lucky enough to work for Google and Microsoft, yet my Google manager told me that he didn't think I was "technical enough" to work for Google even though I know more programming languages than he does.

I am often the only woman in a group, and, as you say, I get along fine with my male companions, and have a great deal in common with them. Yet there is still a disconnect for some reason between my abilities and the perception that people have of who I am and what I am capable of doing.

I try not to be a complainer, but you are right. It is still uncomfortable to join a group and be asked to act as the secretary and take notes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70