You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Not My Job – I Am Me

in #life8 years ago

I so agree with what you are saying. I spent four plus years at Microsoft. They expect that you will continuously improve and take on more responsibility. Being good at your job, always finishing on time, and creating good work, your ratings will slowly decrease to the point where you are in danger of being fired, despite the fact that you are still doing a good job, getting your work done on time and creating good articles, code, or whatever it is you are supposed to produce. I have finally come to the conclusion that any job I have (I am currently entertaining two offers) will only be the way I pay my bills, and not who I am or even what I do for a living. I'm looking forward to reading more of your posts.

Sort:  

I hear ya there. It wasn't so long ago that there was a time where people would do one thing their whole lives. They would get really good at it too, people would send their kids to learn from the masters.

Some people just want to code or what have you and never want to have to supervise others. But there is this thinking that if you aren't always clamoring for the next rung on the ladder you aren't worth anything. It's ridiculous, but it is the thinking that has taken hold.

Thanks for the follow! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23