Sunday musings: the beauty of a proper breakfast and the joy of morning beer

in #life7 years ago

When asked what is your favourite meal of the day, most days I would say I don’t have one. Food is mostly fuel during the work days. Quick breakfast, quick lunch, snack before gym, dinner after. Rinse, repeat. AH but in weekends it is different, if you are the kind without full days on weekends. Which I am. So what is my favourite meal? Well it depends.

But I do not want to pick favorites. I want to talk about the pure satisfaction that one gets from a good leisurely breakfast on Sunday. And, as the title contains spoilers, the requisite beer. This may sound strange to many, but for me Sunday breakfast just isn't the same without a cold one. This is basically a family tradition, as I picked it up from my parents who, for as long as I can remember, had beer for breakfast on Sunday.

20180128_081837.jpg

Wait a minute old bean, the discerning steemian wonders. I thought only bad icky alcoholics drink in the morning. Well you rather obviously thought wrong. Let me drop some knowledge on you. The key here fine steemer, is moderation and not making it a habit. Sunday and usually only and a 0.33 beer. I know 0.33 beer is sacrilege to some, but it is perfect for breakfast. Trust me on this one.

Anyway, as my review of this very fine book said, not that you lot read, Complete Angler taught us all proper englishmen in the 1600s drank beer as their morning drink. Moderation was also key, no more than one until lunch, one with lunch, and one or two dinner. Remember beer alley. Beer alley is happy.

As to breakfast, I, as you may have noticed, placed a nice picture. A couple of nicely cooked eggs, half an avocado with just a touch of Sriracha and a slice of toast. The bread is not always there, as I am of the low carb dietary persuasion, but i do love a nice country bread and one must treat oneself mustn't one? This case it was a whole spelt bread from a small local bakery, none of that industrial stuff. And as I am not on keto diet, I can afford to occasionally indulge.

The eggs are important for a good Sunday breakfast. Fried, poached, scrambled, omelet, all work. . But cook it proper. Coffee is a usual for breakfast, in this case a single origin from Honduras, brewed in my trusty moka pot with a splash of mill, proper not that low fat stuff. While I drink my fair share of fancy craft beer, this is not needed for sunday breakfast. Any cold, decent lager will do. It is just a complementary piece, and goes well with the eggs.

Anything better than a good breakfast on a lazy sunny sunday? Probably, but this is pretty nice as well. You all know the usual, like follow upvote that stuff… Peace

Sort:  

information is very useful and interesting, I really agree with your post, your post makes the reading can choose healthy food for him.
thank you @ionescur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27