Friday reflections of childhood memories

in #life7 years ago

gramophone.jpg

Chilling at home on a Friday night, not exactly what I had in mind but hey why not it’s kind of chilly outside. Would have loved to go to a place with really loud music and shake on those few calories gained throughout the week of postponing the yoga classes and jogging session because it too cold to go jogging and put on those yoga clothes and bend over.
Yes, so I am here at home and I am my own Dj, no need to buy the most expensive whisky in the house so I can hear my favorite tune (which the Dj magically forgets when a more beautiful looking and sweet talking lady request her song which is played by every Dj in every club and radio station and she also downloaded and is in her phone).
I must say I do have quite a good selection, not the best in the world but good enough to get me in the Friday groove, the classics, rock, RnB, reggae and ragga, local old school tunes etc. I actually send a friend of mine who is into rock a song by Boston because I couldn’t hold it anymore ☺.
Some of these tunes make me sing along loud like a manic (singing the wrong lyrics all the time), some make me cry and some just absorb me and make me feel like I am floating.
But most of them make me remember about my childhood with my dad and mum, as they are the ones who made me love most of these types of music and artists particularly my dad. I don’t know if he still remembers it but I will forever cherish those days.
Now that I am “old” enough I understand what was happening to him, how he felt when we sang along with him though I did not understand most of the lyrics. He would come home very late or very early in the morning with his brown bottles in hand and he would sing to every tune and I would be looking at him with my then saucepan big eyes and wish I could do the same.
Now I can’t do that anymore mainly because of my African culture and because of what the people who surround us would say about me. My mother and sister are so religious that if they would see me dancing with my dad like he used to teach me when I was 10 they would start conducting an exorcism session on me right away. My dad was a free spirited person when he used to drink, I remember my mother and sister used to get bored, and sometimes they had no choice but to sing and dance along. He had quite a variety from the internationals rock, soul, reggae, the locals, regionals you name it.
Now when I play or hear any of the songs that we used to play when I was young those memories just come back flashing like it’s really happening. I still search for some of the song and sometimes I find them in their originals and sometimes I find the cover versions, which is a bit disappointing. My dad still has his “ big black CDs “ and I am still looking for a modern gramophone player so that I can keep the memories forever.

My salutations go to the Bee Gees, Lionel Richie, Denver, Crosby, Still, Nash, Young, Phil Collins, Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Culture, Joan Armatrading, Judy Boucher, Jimmy Cliff, Michael Bolton, Neil Diamond, Anita Baker and I could go on and on. Some of the songs had nothing to do with me it terms of message but I still play them now and people often get confused and ask is everything okay. I never asked why my dad or my mum played them, but I got so caught up in them.

So as I am ending this week I have my parents in mind particularly my dad as he influenced the type of music I still listen to. I still just have a thing for ROCK MUSIC ☺
Happy FRIDAY!!!!

Sort:  

Good article upvoted

Thats some real music right there. 👍

Rock on i totally relate and appreciate

Congratulations @invoke! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @invoke! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70