You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The State of Education- Part 3: Where Art Thou?

in #life7 years ago

Your perspective is something that brings something unique to the model of mentorship you share with your kids, man. Really love this.

And that street art is fresh!

Sort:  

Thanks brother!!! I try to offer my unique perspectives and insights to my students as well! I was really digging the street art in Mexico when I visited! Decided I could work it into this post :)

Nice touch, indeed. And that's specifically the point, I think. It's all about that ability and willingness to be able to let the kids be that creativity in an environment that squeezes out such notions in a number of ways.

I remember where I went to high school in Sugar Land, TX, that the school was designed by the same people who designed the prison.

If you were (unfortunately) between the height of approximately 4-6" tall, you couldn't even look outside because of the way the building was designed to only allow sunlight to come through the bottom or top of a very large cement block.

Poignant.

Wow that is rough! I already thought education was modeled after the prison system, but damn! Yeah it's sad seeing the creativity smashed, especially when you see someone like me still having way more of an imagination than these kids!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67