This woman was raped, then did a TED Talk with the man who did it!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have watched A LOT of TED Talks, but this is one of the more unusual ones.

You often don't hear about a rape ending in a positive way. These two found it within them selves to help each other through the traumatic experience, and set the bar for what is possible. In my opinion, you have to be an incredibly strong person to forgive someone that raped you, and work together to overcome the experience.

Summary

The scene is set when they were both fairly young, and actually in a relationship at the time. Alcohol was involved when the deed occurred, and before what happened had set in, he moved away. It turns out that the experience was slowly eating away at both of them.

I don't want to give too much away! Watch it for yourself, their approach is unheard of.

.

What are your thoughts on this? Would you be able to forgive your perpetrator giving the circumstance?

Thanks for giving my post your time! Resteem, this could help someone find closure.

For more, follow me @intrepidthinker. Here is my most recent post. Check it out!

Recommended Content:
@matt-a, @robrigo, @kotturinn, @tommyinthesun, @modernnomad, @aprilwyatt

Sort:  

Great post
You are doing Great

This TED talk is one of the worst, they both got drunk as teens, hooked up and after she decided it was rape. If everytime someone had regretable drunken sex and said it was rape the world would be full of rapists.

No. Full fucking stop.

The only consent that works is fully informed fucking consent. If she was too impaired to consent then that is not ever consent. I don't know about you, but I have never, not even once, not even when I was a stupid teenager been too drunk to know the fucking difference between someone who is capable of providing consent, and someone who is too inebriated to provide legitimate informed consent. A person's humanity and dignity are important to me, so If you're unsure, don't fucking do it. I try to stay civil on Steemit, so excuse my language, but this topic is one that warrants it.

This comment never showed in my replies. Thanks for your input! That has to be the most logical way to approach it. Keeping everyone in the equation safe. Feel free to curse all you want on my page! It came with a great message. Thanks again @mattie.b-leaver.

In my opinion looking at these people's mannerisms and the details of the story, (counting seconds while shit faced drunk) personally I think they are both lying opportunists. I agree with you about consent being fully informed. I think Thordis is a fraud trying to cash in on this idea of rape culture.

I presented it because it was an unusual one, and you don't ever see an outcome like this. I'm sure it will appeal to someone.

I agree with you that there is a line that can be crossed, but where that line is defined is a rocky subject in the public eye. I personally don't know the answer.

I think the world IS full of rapists. Haha It happens quite often. Thanks for your input @quattrophoto.

I didn't say anything about a line.. she choose to drink and then didn't want to be responsible for the outcome. If you think the world is full of rapists I feel sorry for you. This woman used her regretful first sexual experience to create a victimhood story, and then was rewarded with a big book deal. You've been duped, real rape victims don't stand on stages with their assailants and smile.

Whether you said it or not there is one. There is no need to feel sorry for me, I can assure you.

When I said "I think the world IS full of rapists. Haha It happens quite often."I said it in a light-hearted joking manner, but since you are coming off the way you are, the statistic is 1 in 33 men have attempted or completed rape in their life times. That equals a world filled with them. What number would you consider not filled with them? Like 1 in 100?

Also, I have not been duped in any way, I'm pretty sure you are assuming that I have been. I expressed nothing in regards to siding with her, or believing her story. All I did was present it.

I don't understand where your negative ass comments are coming from. Just relax man, this post was not directed at you, or anyone for that matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28