Why we DON'T need to punch nazis.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

In light of all the media attention antifa has gotten as of late, I thought it would be encouraging to show some recent real life examples of people not using the 'violence is necessary to combat violence' rhetoric. When someone (like a nazi) holds the belief that certain people should be killed or locked up, or what have you, they are doing nothing more than showing their true racist colors. But please notice how I said beliefs, and not that they actually did any killing of said people, or committed any bad/immoral acts at all, even though they espouse these ideas.


https://www.engadget.com/2017/02/03/punch-a-nazi-game/

It is one thing to believe in an idea. It is a whole other thing to act on that idea. Using force and violence against people who have not used force and violence against you is immoral and an act of aggression. Regardless of how much you disagree with the opposing sides view points. I liken it to bringing a flamethrower to a forest fire. Yes, the fire is ruining the trees, but the flamethrower is only adding fuel to the fire. Using physical violence against people who advocate violence only breeds more of the same.

The first example I would like to share is about a local restaurant here in Minneapolis. I'll include a link to one article, but the jist is that the owner of Club Jager donated $500 to David Duke's senate campaign run. David Duke, as you probably know, is the former leader of the KKK. Obviously a racist and someone I wouldn't want to encounter in my day to day life if I could help it. Once the news broke a week or so ago about the donation to Duke, his employees felt the same way I did. They didn't want to work for someone who would donate their money to a racist. I don't blame them.


This pic is from 'Go fund me', which is trying to help fund the employees who walked out due to their stance against racism

Source: https://www.gofundme.com/tzsdpy-club-jager-exit-fund

I thought it was interesting to read that the owner, Julius Jaeger De Roma, had previously donated to the libertarian party, specifically Ron & Rand Paul, and also to the Republican party. I can't say for certain if Mr. De Roma is a racist himself, but it is besides the point. Simply associating with outspoken racists is societal suicide. This story is no exception. Most employees quit on the spot and certain events like 'Transmission', a hosted weekly dance night were immediately halted. His bustling business is no more and I don't foresee it making much of a comeback. He cites the donation as "free speech"', and that "It’s basically something that is blown up beyond what it should be.”

Here is the link to the article if you want to dig deeper https://twincities.eater.com/2017/8/31/16234616/clubhouse-jager-owner-julius-de-roma-david-duke-donation-employees-fallout

The second story was one I saw shared from a friend on FB. He lives near La Crosse, Wisconsin and this one was very similar to the first. I am going to copy and paste it from the gentleman who posted it so you can read his words...

Nathaniel Coleman Jr.
September 11 at 7:28am ·
Good morning Facebook. I want to relay a story that happened to myself and my friend and co-worker Rodney last night. Rodney is also black...yes, it's important to the story...

I'm the vice president of our union (ATU local 519) and our union meets at a local bar here call the Arterial. After the Union meeting I took one of our Union sisters and good friend Sonna home she lives just minutes away. After I dropped her off as I drove home as I passed thhe Arterial and Rodney was sitting there in the parking lot in his truck. I stopped to see if maybe something was wrong...

"No. I'm just checking my fantasy teams..." Rodney said...I laughed. Rodney and I started to talk. I suggested we go back into the bar to have a drink. Midway through our beer we ordered a 14'' sausage and pepperoni pizza...
We ordered two more beers, are the pizza and watched the remainder of The Dallas Cowboys game. We paid our bill and tipped the bartender about 30%. We went out to our trucks.

Here's where things get interesting...

For whatever reason after we got in our trucks we still continue to talk Rodney and I hadn't visited for a while and I think for the most part we were catching up in any event we rode a windows down and continued to chat our trucks running and anticipated leaving when we were done with our conversation. As we were sitting there I noticed a very thin scraggly haired obviously drunken white male approaching our vehicles. I look at Rodney and say this oughta be funny. Because he and I are both bus drivers I assumed that this was a drunk passenger and that they were gonna ask for ride or when the next bus came. I couldn't have been more wrong.

"Get to getting! I'm watching you! You (niggers) get to getting!..." I looked at Rodney and then said to the guy what if I was a cop...I could arrest you for a hate crime...

My thinking was perhaps he would go away. Instead he asked for my badge...and then asked again for Rodney and I to leave. I then asked who he was he replied I own this bar. I looked at him and said we just got done eating and drinking in your bar and/or Union meets your monthly so I don't know who you really are but you should leave us alone. He then repeated himself you boys get to getting get out of here.

At that point Rodney and I stepped out of our trucks. Neither of us would be mistaken as small...

Rodney and I looked at each other. Both black men in our 50's it was like we both understood any physical confrontation between us and this guy wasn't going to end well for either of us.

"Executive Director of community center and bus driver beat man in parking lot...film at 11".

So we decided to walk back into the bar to talk with our bartender. Maybe he could talk sense into whoever this guy was...

I must stop here and tell you...my entire stomach churned. This was a great evening. I had lead the union meeting as our local president was out of town. We had some great discussions at the meeting and then afterward I had got to catch up with my good friend...

As we headed back in the bartender was outside smoking. We stopped and begin to tell him the story...and he then told us that...wait for it...that the guy was the owners son and that he kinda did own the bar.

At that point Rodney asked can you explain to him that we were customers in your bar that we had ordered pizza and drinks and that the union had met there as we had numerous months before that we were good customers and spent lots of money...that we did not deserve to be talked to that way.

The bartender said...well he's kinda my cousin. I don't know what's wrong with him. He went over and the man again told Rodney and I to get going. So with that we left.

My stomach in knots and a terrible sadness...I was thinking to myself The there still people like this in 2017 and it's sickening.

I went to Recovery Room...a local bar close to my house and where I know a number of people. They were completely disgusted by my story but not surprised they knew this guy.

I called my union president and told him that I would under no circumstances ever set foot into the Arterial bar. He without hesitation said he understood. So they have lost our local as customers.

So now I will tell you my intention of writing this story I want the bar owner and his son to feel the gut punch that Rodney and I had to deal with, being treated horribly for doing nothing more then being black and having a conversation in a parking lot where we had just finished eating and drinking.

If you are a customer of this bar you now know how they treat their black customers.

As for myself and Rodney we will never go there again.

Also I want to thank my friends at the Recovery Room bar who were extremely gracious to Rodney and myself. Although they had done nothing they made us feel like a part of this community not like a color...

Get to getting...

I'm getting but I have every intention of taking people with me. Actions have consequences.

I just needed to get this off my chest. Do what you will with it.

Also thank you Todd for your instant and I think appropriate action . It meant an awful lot to Rodney and myself...

I am a huge lover of free speech. However, there can be consequences to things you say, especially in public. These 2 stories really speak to me, because it shows me that people can make a big difference in their communities, simply by saying 'no, I am not okay with that'. There was no law man there to force people to do things. No physical violence was committed by anyone on either side. The individuals made the stand, and the racist sentiments were put up front, bold and center for everyone to see, and most everyone sided with the non-racists. The comments section was filled with people saying how they won't go to that bar anymore. It was a constant barrage of people saying 'I am not going to spend my dollars at a place that has these values'.

We don't need to outlaw hate speech. We don't need to physically attack people who advocate immoral acts. We only need to show them that we will not associate with them. We will not frequent their businesses and shower them with our money. They will be societal outcasts who die living lonely lives with their racist ilk.

Violence begets more violence. We don't need to punch nazis to show them their ideals are immoral. Social ostracism is a fantastic method of weeding immoral people out of a, more often than not, moral society. Spread peace and love, instead of hate and violence.

Hope you enjoyed reading and let me know your thoughts! Steem on!

Sort:  

@intothewild Great day I value all the info and labor thank you :) Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64