Steemit whales - I met one that impressed me today and I want to share what I found out!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

There are actually quite a few steemit whales. All of them seem to be in it for the money, "seems like" anyway. I'm wrong on many fronts, but!  I met one that isn't.

I've met a lot of people since I first learned about Bitcoin in early 2013.  Not in person, but in forums.  When you read a lot of things someone posts, you start to feel like you know the person, which is normal.

Over time, in crypto, I got wise.  Some people sell a good story, but it is by their actions you can judge their motives and behavior a lot easier.

I had a couple people I thought really well of.. I wish I could tell you their names.  But it really doesn't matter. I'm keeping the guilty anonymous, because it isn't key to the point.

However, there are those involved in crypto that tell a great tale, get a good following by it, and over time, you learn they shouldn't and can't be trusted.  Sometimes these people become untrustworthy because they had honest intentions, they just didn't realize their own limitations.  Conversely, some of these people become untrustworthy because from the very beginning they knew they were going to scam people, and they talked-the-talk, and walked-the-walk until the point came they could disappear with funds.

Bearing all of this in mind... I knew someone for awhile now, that did talk-the-talk, and did walk-the-walk, and I always wanted to believe they were different than the rest. I convinced myself of this, even with my spidey senses (think spiderman) told me that there is a chance they were no different than anyone else I met in crypto since 2013.

To be honest, I think their spidey senses (think spiderman) might have been up with me too..

But talking with them today, they said a couple of facts that made me shudder.

This is a steemit whale.  Someone many of us know, and many of us don't. They are a whale nonetheless..

This is what they said:

"I have been such a huge whale in Steem, that I could have powered down, and with my earnings, I could have paid off my house! I could have built a swimming pool in the back yard! I could have bought my family a new car!"

Pretty nice situation to be in..  but they continued...

"Instead, I spent some money. Okay, a lot of my money that I earned, on building my next idea. I didn't ICO it. I didn't try and raise funds.  I put everything I earned toward something that is better for the crypto community that I believed in that will work"

Now sit there for a moment, and think.

A guy with about $300,000 networth of steemit funds (when steemit was doing well) had a hard decision. Do I sell it and buy my house? a swimming pool? a new car? Or do I invest it not only for my future, but the future of others around me... ?

Extremely noble move.  Impressive risk taker. He took the latter.

But I know where it comes from. A good heart. Good morals. A decent human being.

WHO IS THIS PERSON?

I'm not going to say. It's not me (of course, look at my wallet)...

But there was about 10-15 witnesses today when he said it.  While I write this, he knows who he is, and it is up to him to keep it anonymous or not.

This point, is all I wanted to say.... 

Good people like this exist.  Good people like this exist not only in steemit, but crypto too.  Good people who are willing to sacrifice their short term riches to benefit the community as a whole are out there.

I love this, and I love him as a new found friend for doing that..

It gives me hope. It shows me that not all of humanity is out there for themselves...

This is a very nice story, and I wanted to share it with everyone.

Thanks.... You know who you are.  Keep up the great work, and I support you fully.

P.S. Sir, your wife married a good man. Be proud of yourself. It's hard navigating life in the dark when temptation is everywhere to be like "everyone else".  I am happy to have met you, and it is like people like you that makes me sleep better at night, because I'm the same.  I want to show that too when I can.


Sort:  

Thanks intelliguy :)

I do not need my anonymity on this and I am glad that people appreciate it. I will say, however, that I had no way of paying off my house completely---though it would have done wonders on how much we have left.

I simply hope other whales are thinking like I am...and doing similar things. Because if so, we are all going to be very happy one of these days.

As for the important part of what you say here--our own actions can give people hope. and when you give people hope they build a better world. Nothing and I mean nothing is more valuable than that for everyone living today. That includes my wife and son.

If spending money I have earned on steemit from my hangouts and other work goes into building tools that empower others....well then guess what? We will have armies of empowered people who want to constructively make changes. Talk about an ROI.... ;)

There are a lot of us who scratch away at our pleasure money to buy steem as well as post. It's nice and refreshing to know whales sacrifice even more than us. Keeps people from complaining so much during the first crucial year for all of us and just keep plugging away.

I agree with you. It's a bumpy road, but we're all on it together. I see a bright future ahead. See you there!

Exceptional post! ☆☆☆ I have chosen to do the same, on a much smaller scale. I Tweeted.

Anything, on any scale, done for the right reasons, holds the same truth to it. Thanks Michael!

Incredibly written and words sir!

Thanks. I don't like to think when I write, I just like it to come from the heart when I do. When someone else reads it and appreciates it, it makes it all worthwhile. Thanks for the comment.

This is refreshing to hear - I believe it to be true. Making money isn't bad - having a lot of money isn't bad, but like superheros money is power and with great power takes great responsibility. Sounds like this person understands his powers and is directing them in the right way.

Yes, and it is a pleasure to hear him talk about it. First time today, he said it this way, and I was impressed. First time a person like me who always has something to say.. paused, thought about it, and went "wow".

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.37 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

NEVERDIE ICO is LIVE.
The first block chain based Virtual Reality gaming crypto! NEVERDIE coin will allow monetizing the game items in real cash economy game Entropia Universe. NOW game player can cash out their in-game money earned by playing game and can exchange NEVERDIE coin with other ERC20 tokens such as Gnosis, Golem, and Frist Blood.
https://steemit.com/ico/@maxtill94/nevedie-ico-full-analysus-why-you-should-buy-neverdie-coin-gaming-cryptocurrency-coin-comparision-with-gamecredit-mobilego-first
네버다이 영어이미지.PNG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72