SOLUTION: Can't update an android app from Google Play store? Not enough space? EASY TRICK THAT WORKS

in #life7 years ago

You have 0.98 Gig of space and an app refuses to update... How stupid is that? I have a solution

easy-google-play-store-fix.png

There is nothing worse than seeing you have 0.98 Gig of free space on your device, and another 50 Gig of space available on your SD Card on your phone or tablet.

...But Google Play store refuses to update an APP because it says you do not have enough space.

So what do you do?

  • You start moving apps to your SD card
    -- that doesn't work

  • You start deleting cached files
    -- that doesn't work

  • You start deleting some photos
    -- that doesn't work

  • Fine, you start deleting some of your less used apps
    -- that doesn't work

So after all that, you went from 0.98 Gig of free space to 1.66 Gig of free space...

AND YOU GET THE SAME STUPID ERROR MESSAGE !

How frustrating.

easy-trick-to-fix-this.png

Go ahead and exit all your apps that are currently open.

POP OUT and remove that extra little micro SD Card you plugged in for extra memory.

Go back to the play store, and try your update again.

Now the app will update on the google play store and it works now!

After it is done, put your micro SD Card memory back in again.

phone-sd-card.png

FIXED. (Most of the time)

Did you ever try this? Did it work for you?

Sort:  

i haven't tried it yet! very usefull
i have been through this multiple times
it really sucks

Hahahaha. Seems funny.
Is it that easy and simple, I mean does it work if we do this.
Removing the memory card and then putting it back, I will definitely try this if I ever face this problem.
Thanks mate. Cheers

Very informative, this happens quite often and all of us start deleting stuff that we shouldn't. Keep sharing such posts, thankyou

Ooooh they look amazing! Might have to try these :)

Yes, you should try them. They are very delicious! XD

Me too... SD is my favorite flavor. ;-p

I always get this issue with my Google play store... I usually do delete some cache... Sometimes it works and sometimes not.. Thanks for the further solution to fix it.. It does help

Get a cleaner app to help delete redundant files. I agree its frustrating, makes you wanna throw the phone out the window, then you remember how much it costs to get a new one

Lol, other ways to get angry :D

Hi @intelliguy thanks for the tip, and I'm sure it will dig people out of an immediate hole.

I have a more long term solution, where you can format the SD card as internal storage and so no issues with apps being installed there. DON'T do it to your current SD card as it involves formatting and you will lose what you have currently stored on it.

You could though copy what you want on to a PC, and back to your phone again after you've completed the job. Basically the SD card becomes part of your phone's internal storage and can't be removed and used as external SD storage after the process.

I've done this to my current phone which I bought a couple of months ago and it works great. I'm a cheapskate and so only buy cheap phones that I don't have to worry about losing, and this method give me ample storage for installing apps.

Would you please share your "turn your SD card memory into internal storage" solution with us?

sure @full-steem-ahead, I'll get something done on it this coming week and post in my blog.

Interesting, I got this error message about 2 weeks ago, just before I dropped and killed my phone, and I was baffled by it considering I did have free space just as you mentioned.

I have a new phone now, but I will keep this in mind in case it happens on this one in the future.

Haven't tried this. I do not use SDcards. I just delete existing apps or videos/images to free some space. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80