Double rainbow after a fast storm rolls into Ocean City, Maryland

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The storm came rather quickly. There was talk of a storm and it was very interesting to actually see one come in or up from the Atlantic Ocean for once since I live at least a hundred miles inland. On the east coast of the USA, most storms follow the jet stream which runs from the western US to the east or up the eastern coast or comes down from Canada. This one was coming inland quickly, and we were in a vacation town called Ocean City, Maryland. There is a boardwalk, rides, large beaches, lots of dining, boating, fishing and many other recreational things to do. Here was the view from our oceanfront condominium that we rented, as viewed looking out east into the Atlantic Ocean.
20160718_191355.jpg
Then it came in faster...
20160718_191807.jpg
Then it really started to pour, as viewed from the front window of our rental...
20160718_192422.jpg
That didn't stop us from going out though, we ended up going out across the street to a small restaurant for ice cream to let the storm pour out. There was lightning and thunder. I may have captured it in video but not in these still photos.
When the rain stopped, the sun started breaking through the clouds.
20160718_194837.jpg
Then there were rainbows, big arched rainbows. In order to try to capture the double rainbow with my simple Samsung phone, I needed to cut the rainbow in halves to try to get the detail. I hope you enjoy the power and beauty of the nature. The double arch is difficult to see. Perhaps if I used some imaging software to enhance the photos, I could bring the color out more.
20160718_195015.jpg
20160718_195010.jpg
20160718_195138.jpg
Maybe these 2 images are too similar?
20160718_195220.jpg
The kids were enjoying their treats as I just got done capturing mother nature. They were a little nervous about me being outside during the heavy rain but I was under an awning until I started taking pictures of the rainbows.
20160719_124908.jpg
20160719_124921.jpg
These images are viewed from across the street, looking towards the Atlantic Ocean from a restaurant on what is called the Coastal Highway. I also have some videos of the black clouds rolling in. Perhaps I can get one of the better ones up on D-Tube as a follow up to this. I hope you enjoyed this rare event seen in Ocean City, NJ.
20160718_194941.jpg
I'd appreciate the upvote if you found these images interesting, especially if you've been to OCMD before, you may even know whereabouts these photos were taken. I've never seen this happen there before or after; and I go there yearly for a week. Happy Steeming!

I just added an edit here hours later with a video of the black clouds rolling in over the ocean:

Sort:  

wow! amazing! really nice picture. how to captured it?

I simply ended up using my Samsung S7 Phone. I would like to have had my real digital camera available, which is nothing too fancy, but it can take much better pictures. The photos are HD quality although I know they get compressed when you upload to a site like this. Some of them came out really nice. Thanks for looking.

@inspire1
i think you have nice capturing hand. and your welcome

I usually use my cellphone for my photography as well.
Super awesome pics I love the storm clouds!

Sometimes when all you have is your phone, that is what you gotta use. I can remember many, many years ago when the cell phone first started becoming a camera that I thought, "How useless". The megapixel quality was laughable but it did work.

Now I am so disappointed in seeing the new feature upgrades of either the iPhone or the latest Samsung S9. They hardly mention anything about the phone being faster, more reliable, or more powerful. All they talk about is how great the new camera on it is. I am eligible for an upgrade right now from my S7. I don't even think I want to bother with the S9.

i know it must have taken some of your time to take such amazing photographs instead of playing with the kids its still worth it doh, your shots are really really amazing.

Thanks very much for looking. The kids were more spooked by the storm than I was. I was more fascinated by it and they thought I was crazy to go outside and photograph it, but I also wanted to see it with my own eyes as well.

well am glad you where able to capture it and also see it for your self great Job, am sure the kids would love the shots.

Excellent photos and video ... the video is one of a very few that actually played for me from d.tube. Great footage. Thanks for sharing.

Odd that is one of few that actually play. It was taken with a Samsung S7 phone camera in HD mode and I simply uploaded the MP4 file just like I would anything else. Glad you enjoyed having a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99