Still sledding man @ 46 years old and having a blast (POV)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago


The season has changed to Spring in Philadelphia and people are starting to use their air conditioners. A few months ago, there was snow on the ground and I went sledding with my kids on a closed golf course. As a 46 year old man, I am still in good shape but getting back up that hill is a solid 15+ minute walk in boots and snow and uneven ground. I did 2 runs myself. I don't even know how many times my kids went down.

This was my first run and I did a point of view (POV) video holding my Samsung S7 phone in front of my face while I was face down on a boogie board. I have to estimate that I went a couple hundred yards and I really don't know fast I was going but it felt great. My face was less than a foot off the ground. I pass my boys at about the 2/3 mark of my travel. At the end, I turn around to look back up to the top of the hill and captured that on video.

The moral of the story is when you're feeling the heat, remember times that you have like this, when you were bundled up, having fun with someone you love like your kids and look back at what you accomplished. Some might say that I am too old to be doing this. If I stop doing things like this though, life slows down, and who wants that?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Live your life and do the things that make you happy.

After 40 ... to see ... really does not mean anything, you have to be happy as you can do what we really want, great idea to adjust the activities to the weather, however when the desire comes together ... We have to give it free rein, as the song "Caballo Viejo" says.

46, you are young as hell!!! (This coming from a fellow 46 year old hahhahha)

Sketting on ice is a energetic game and if you goes to hill then you must enjoy this game...

Which course was this?
I lived in and around Philly for nearly 15 years (born and raised in WC) from the time I started at Drexel. This was about perfect sledding snow- not super wet, or 5 or 6 feet deep like it got more than a few times back in the '60s and '70s.
If you're too old to sled, you're probably too old to rock, and if you're too old to rock, just give it up! You're too damn old.

It is Philmont Country Club in Huntingdon Valley, PA. The top of the looks down onto Philmont Avenue traffic in the distance. I used to go there as a teenager with friends as well but we were always careful since it is a private country club after all. There were staff at the nearby clubhouse while we there this time. They didn't seem to care one bit.

You got a 1.54% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @inspire1!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 1.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @inspire1!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02