Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. I've misplaced my purpose many times, and that led me to similar circumstances. It took a realization that this dying business wasn't going to happen so easily, so I had better start making my home(myself) livable. I've spent a lot of time in my life doing things that are not working towards that end, so recently I've decided to dedicate myself to, if even by means of process of elimination, finding things that do work for me.

Steemit is one of the things that is sort of double edged right now. It's the sole social media I participate in(unless you count the occasional comment on youtube). It's actually as close as I get to socializing in the real world, so in that way it's good, but it's still terribly non-productive and time consuming at this point.

I can honestly say I'm happiest when I have a mission. Put another way, I'm happiest when I have an addiction or obsession. The idea of having something to focus on is quite a relief. The key, for me at least, is to find an obsession that fits into my life's work. If I can find the next one of those, I'll be golden...for a little while anyway.

I've been a computer consultant, a marine biologist, a fisherman, a logger, and on and on. 1999 I became a finish carpenter, and I love it. I obsess on work.

It works for me.

This really made me smile @inquiringtimes! I especially enjoyed @stellabelle's top tips!

What a riot!!

What an amazing time for us to be here now sharing in this. I have been watching places like Nigeria really take off. It's incredible when you see what is actually happening where people life under so much turmoil. (Sure we have our own turmoil here in the Western world, too, but it is something else where they've been left completely destitute by governments, etc.)

Dude, I only got to chat with you once, so I don't know shit. But, I can tell you that I'm glad you weren't badly injured, or are relatively whole despite the crash.

If shit's going down, track me down on Discord. I'm all in.

I've been bad places. Not far from one now. Don't take one for the team, let the team take it out.

I remember you telling me about your broken van. I can't really describe how much I relate to that, except to tell you that if I open the driver door on my truck, the door will fall off. Every time I go somewhere, I have to charge the batteries up (yes, more than one).

Summer 2016 I lived in it.

Shit sucks, but I went from living in a VW pickup in the woods to owning my own home today, for which I paid cash - $100. It was almost in as bad shape as my truck, and I have to pay lot rent (trailer), but, believe me, it's a step up.

Don't let the now get in the way of the later, and don't let the before convince you that the later won't be different.

It will.

This is a very deeply moving post. You have a voice that digs deep and brings up truth.

Don't let it be silenced.

Thanks!

thanks for the encouraging words :)

Hello IT.

Didn't know about that history with the truck... damn man!
I'm here always if you EVER need to talk.

By the way mate, I can clearly see you're a talented writer. And believe me that as a blogger I know about that as I had to hire many writers in the past.

You have to keep your mind to it, and whenever you feel like faultering, hit me up on Discord.
Cheers mate.

thanks for the encouraging words. I have faith in my talents as a blogger, and with technology. almost seems like a shame I didn't realize this all sooner, although I suppose I needed steemit to really find my potential. no... my doubts don't even go towards overcoming these addictions.

It's easy enough for me to interact through a screen. I'm best at communicating through the written word. The hard part is flesh life interactions and communicating via spoken word. In person communication has evolved quite a bit over the years, and I've lagged far behind in that realm... one way to put it is that I have a lot of catching up to do. Another way to put it, is I wonder if I'll ever really learn how to relate with people like a human being. sigh... shrug.

I can focus on my strengths, one of which is research. I'll have faith in that, and focus my energy in that direction. I have a lot of good information sources to help me with most of the areas I struggle with.

for some, I've got to dig a bit deeper...

I have rarely gotten personal in this blog of mine, partially because I came here to learn the skill of writing informational researched based materials. Partially because I just don't wanna go there. all I can say is, I'm not perfect, I'm more aware than ever of my various flaws, and I'm working hard to become a better person.

"I can focus on my strengths, one of which is research."

That explains the nick!

Friend is addicted to posts, Or in fact, you can leave addictive addiction. In this you only need a belief. And keep you thought together

I would not hesitate to say that I am addicted to steem not because you get paid or all those stuffs it's just because you always get to learn new things when you are using steem. You get to meet so creative people who capture so beautiful photos from all the corner of world. You get to learn investment ideas a lot.... Steemit is the perfect platform for me so I'm really getting addicted to our steem community... Wonderful article @inquiringtimes keep steeming!!

Well an addiction that you get paid to participate in is already a far better proposition than one where you send money to someone else to feed your hunger haha

Thank you very much for sharing this. People never know what goes on behind closed doors and many of us have struggles.

I wish you a speedy physical recovery. Mental strength.... well this is not always so easy.... be kind to your self. You are a star in the making.

Addiction is a serious scourge that has afflicted all societies and has been a direct cause of a range of serious diseases tank you for Subject

It's greatly good idea for drug addict and it's change man abuse addict . Great work dear .
Thanks for sharing

Namaste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25