Getting Things Done 🌀 An Easy and Effective Method to Get and Stay Organized

in #life7 years ago


Because we each have different problems or stresses revolving around time management, I was recently recommended, and would like to share about an interesting book, written by productivity consultant David Allen. It's called "Getting Things Done, The Art of Stress Free Productivity." Here is its wiki entry. It teaches what so far, is a simple, and very effective method of creating the willpower, the space and the rules for correcting the mistakes that lead to poor organization, both physically and temporally. 


(Source)


Of course, one of our greatest issues around becoming and staying organized is that we just have so much going on at once. This means many things, but in terms of choosing an action to take, it is very difficult as our minds are flooded with plans or ideas at various stages of completion/exploration, we try to balance needs and wants, for ourselves and for others, we worry and care about loved ones and the world at large, current events, bills, pets, work, getting the kids ready for school, lists, "oh yah, when and what should I eat for lunch since I skipped breakfast?" etc.. I won't forget to mention that we each have a minimum of 26 different Steemit articles to write! ^.~


(Source)


Aside from stress examination and reduction techniques, the key idea presented in the book is that our goal should be to remove from one's active mind, anything but the current objective at hand, and move them to a system that is external to our minds. This helps us to remove or manage our mental blockages, stress, wasted time, poor emotional control, anger, and all the clutter, both physical and mental. Once controlled, each new item or task that we come across and requires attention, will be easily sorted for later, or accomplished immediately.


The truth is when acting ideally, we all do some version of this already, but it's nice to see it again in a structured and fixed form. So here is a flow chart of the main operations to get a handle on, practice, and slowly incorporate into our lives:


(Source)


So far, and since one of my greatest negative character traits is laziness in certain areas, I have found one particular step to be the most important one for me at this stage of my (re)organization. 

  • Will the task take more than 2 minutes? ---> No ---> THEN DO IT NOW!~

For some reason, noticing that a task will only take 2 minutes is significant for me, and helps me just get it over with. Once I get caught up in a few key areas, I will attempt to start moving back in time with the method, on my list of to dos. If I stick with it, this will eventually get everything cleaned up and will make continuing forwards with the system, much more manageable... I suppose this post is also to help, in that if I say I'm doing it, then I really should do it...


May we all learn to see the forest for the trees...


(Source)


Do you think this concept would be helpful for you? What leads you to get disorganized, or lose control of your schedule? Which steps in the system go against your natural tendencies, and might help you make a correction?!


Thanks For Your Attention and Support! 

Melech ben Chaya מלך בן חיה, @inphiknit 

Sort:  

It has been interesting so far. Now if only I can keep it up?!

Hope it helps you somehow!

Interesting I will link to my daily curation round :)

on the topic I've been doing that for at least a few years, I have to say the amount of notes stacks up, a few days ago I also found "Evernote" by chance reading up on the same topic. It's funny how the best thing digital technologies can do is to emulate the real world :D, there you can make notes, notebooks, reminders.. everything you would need for time management, with the added benefits of the digital age :) sync the cloud :D

Personally I'm quite bad on time management, normally I get sidetracked to something every ten minutes or so :D

I know the feeling! And I've decided digital doesn't work for me. (Except for time sensitive reminders, like someone's birthday.) Notes on my phone just seem to disappear down a black hole...

Thanks for your appreciation and comment! Hope you get through the next 10 minutes ;)

what 10 minutes, I'm in steemit limbo :D what do you mean I'm procrastinating, I'm curating :D

Lol! Yup, that sounds like a valid excuse :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30