A striking story of my grandmother, hijacked in Germany during the war.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My grandmother passed a very difficult life, I want to tell you one of the episodes of her life. When the Great Patriotic War began in the USSR in 1941, my grandmother was 16 years old. In 1944, my grandmother, together with an able-bodied young woman, was hijacked to Germany to work. My grandmother was only 19 years old when she was torn from her family by her strength, pushed into dusty carriages for cattle and taken away from her native land ... Her mother, my great-grandmother ran after the train for a long time and screamed in terror, begging to return her child. This episode from my life my grandmother remembered forever and broke her heart.
They were brought to the city of Magdeburg, they settled in barracks and gave clothes to killed people, who were executed in concentration camps. The young men's shoes were worn with wooden pads that clattered loudly on the stone road when everyone went to work in the plant early in the morning. They were too early in the morning to be driven to work and local residents did not like this loud knocking of wooden blocks.
There were almost no clothes for the girls, and they wore blankets to make sure of their coats. All the time they were accompanied by hunger, cold and fear for their lives.
When the Nazis saw the approach of the Soviet army, they loaded my grandmother and all the prisoners into cars and wanted to take them to a crematorium or shoot them outside the city. But my grandmother managed to escape with his girlfriend and they began to go home to Ukraine. Grandmother went for a long walk, went afraid, hid in the woods and asked for food in the village. They soon returned to the family.
My grandmother often recalled her life in Germany and told me that there were good and bad people there. Many girls from Germany came back with young children. Everything was in those troubled times.
I apologize for the quality of the photo.

Sort:  

Amazing and touching story. It is a heavy memories. Thank you for sharing, my friend.

What an amazing story. Your grandmother was beautiful. Everyone should read this and remember things could be much worse when they are having a bad day.

@marymg2014 Thank you very much! You are a kind woman! Yes, my grandmother was beautiful. One German family wanted to take the grandmother to live with her. Grandmother refused and returned to Ukraine.

Your grandmother surely passed through a lot of troubles, it is not easy living in the time of war. She is also a very strong woman, it must have taken a lot of courage for her to escape.

Thanks for sharing this story with us. It was very educative and original. It's been long I have come across a post this touching.Keep it up. @inna-yatsuk

Kind words) As they say in Ukraine, "May God give you health!"

Amen. Wish you the best of Health also.

Breaks my heart, I can't imagine the horror your people had to go through.

@reddust Yes, it used to be. We must remember this, so as not to repeat the mistakes of the past

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28