Self Talk Will Either Make Us or Break Us

in #life7 years ago

ZigZiglar.jpg

Self-talk before, during, and after an event will either make or break us.

Autosuggestion is an important success principle. The concept is simple: everything we see, feel, hear, and think throughout the day is stored in our subconscious. This is what guides our responses and reactions to daily Life.

Back in the day (the '80s) I learned the concept of GIGO - Garbage In, Garbage Out. It's a part of the computer programming world and succinctly explains why a computer program didn't work correctly - it's the programmer's fault. The computer will only do what the programmer tells it to do. If the programmer uses bad or convoluted code the computer will read the code and do the action...there is no discernment or thought on the computer's part.

Now, think of yourself as a programmer today. Pay attention to the following things:

  1. Your self-talk - what do you say when you goof up? I catch myself saying things like "well, aren't you the dingbat today?" or "alrighty, mistress of the goof world, could you be any dumber?" and one that surprised me was "you're just not too bright, are you?"

  2. What you read - on websites, news stories, magazines, books. What are you ingesting? Is it dull and mundane? Is it based on violence and anger? Is it positive and uplifting? Is it balanced? I have seen a big improvement in my attitude when I stopped watching news opinion shows. I watch the local news at 6 pm for 30 minutes. I have a Feedly account that brings me news on purpose...what I determined that I need to know about business, industry, taxes, regulations, etc.

  3. How you communicate with friends and family - are you snarky and sarcastic? Are you the "put down aficionado"? Are you gentle with your recommendations? Are you tolerant of other people's shortcomings? Are you helpful?

  4. Who you are surrounded by - what type of people are closest to you and what do they say, how they act toward those who are different, the words they use about themselves and others, how they do business, what they do with bad news or how they act when they fail or make a mistake.

All of this matters. All of this makes its way into my subconscious.

It's up to me to decide what I read, what I listen to, who I listen to, and how I talk to myself and others.

When I catch myself saying something negative, I can pause and purposefully change the words and say it again.

When I see that the news opinion program is playing on television, I can walk away and go outside.

When I begin reading something that makes me wonder about the madness in the world, I move on to something else.

Most things are out of my control.

My attitude and how I respond to the world around me is fully in my control.

originally published as a Mindset Thought for the Day in The GROW Alliance Facebook Group

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97