Good Things Can Come From "Crisis" Mode

in #life7 years ago

Crisis

The turning point in the lives of those who succeed usually comes at the moment of some crisis, through which they are introduced to their “other selves.” ~ Napoleon Hill


Oh, my. I know this one well. I've found my 'other self' numerous times because of a crisis.

What a crisis does to me: I focus, laser focus, on the solution or finding a solution. All of my energy, time, and money go into implementing the solution. It's also a high-adrenaline time, which means it's short term.

What I've learned about myself:

  • I am resilient.
  • I am persistent.
  • I am smart.
  • I am capable.
  • I am emotionally mature.
  • I am patient.
  • I am more than I think I am.
  • I am meant for more than what I am doing now.
  • I am more than I think, more than I feel, more than I see.

My 'other self' is hard-nosed, solid, one track minded and intense. She comes out when needed during times of non-crisis, and I'm glad she is there. And while I sometimes 'wish' I could always be her, I acknowledge that it is better for me and all those around me that I merge her with my current self. What this looks like: when I need a moment to draw on extra knowledge, or strength, or resilience, or more...I step back, take a breath, calm myself, center my mind on asking for help, and what I need will be made available to me.

Does this make sense to you?

What does introduced to their 'other selves' mean to you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61