Don't Confuse Humility with Weakness or Meekness

in #life7 years ago

Humility.jpg

Humility is an accurate assessment of my strengths and weaknesses.

To get an accurate assessment, I need to see myself in the context of the larger whole; that I am a part of something greater than myself; that I am not the center of the universe.

This is both grounding and liberating. By recognizing my abilities, I can see and ask how I can contribute. By recognizing my flaws, I can see and ask how I can grow.

Too often I see people confusing humility and humbleness with self-effacement and modesty. And it usually shows itself as a denial of expertise or downplaying a contribution to something. And, honestly, what it looks like is false humility and disrespect for their abilities and others who are calling out their expertise.

Ignorance and lack of knowledge are not virtues. And yet, when we downplay our expertise or go so far as to say "I'm really not the expert here", when in fact, we are - that's what we're doing ... we're playing the ignorant or not smart card and that's not a good thing.

I've worked long and hard to master a craft, which makes me an expert in that craft. I haven't done nearly as much work in another area, and that means I am weak and I can see where I need to grow strong through learning and applying what I've learned.

Because I am weak in one area, it doesn't mean it leaks into other skills and talents that I have. So it is quite possible to be both weak and strong. To be an expert and non-expert. It's a part of the human being experience.

this post originally appeared in The GROW Alliance Facebook group

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this! I needed to be remind of this myself! :*

yes i agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93