Did You Know: Coffee Nap! There Is Such A Thing!

in #life7 years ago

CoffeeNap.png

Have You Tried Coffee Naps?

No? Me, neither...until recently. As part of a research project for a client, I was looking for recent scientific evidence that a midday nap helped you to be more productive. I curated a lot of content, pored over scientific reports from the US and the UK, and read a few white papers. My favorite piece of content, though, is this blog post:

Opposites DO Attract: Coffee Naps, The Bulletproof Power Nap, Explained

This is where I learned about Coffee Naps. The writer, Dave Asprey, cites scientific evidence and lists the links. More importantly, he asked for people to comment with their experiences. This is where I was convinced that it was worth trying myself.

I Nap and Love It!

I value a good nap. I learned how to power nap when I was a Field Service Engineer, traveling around the country via planes and cars, working on automated mechanical systems.

NapinCar.png

I would pull the car into a fast food restaurant parking lot, park it in the shade, crack all 4 windows open to let fresh air flow through, then set my pager for 20 minutes (I know, I just dated myself - yes, before smart phones) and recline my seat back as far as it would go. I would (and still can) fall asleep within moments of shutting my eyes. When the pager buzzed, my eyes opened and I was wide awake and alert, ready to hit the road or go to my next service call.

Today I nap occasionally. Because I work from home it's a simple matter of walking away from the computer and laying down on the couch. I don't need a pager/smart phone/alarm clock anymore. I can usually drift off within moments of laying my head on the pillow and be awake in 20 minutes. Well, actually, there is one step I do before and that is to mentally tell myself that I will awake in 20 minutes and feel refreshed.

So, now you know my history with naps. Why would I want to add coffee to the mix?

First, I love coffee. Not the bitter stuff that comes from Starbucks, but the strong, smooth roast that many independent coffee shops serve, as well as fine restaurants. I've been drinking coffee since I was a teenager and use it to wake up or to stay awake.

I've never used it to get a better nap.

Until yesterday.

After reading Dave's blog post I decided to give it a try.

It was about 2 pm and I had been doing a lot of 'thinking' work, so was mentally tired and needed a break.

KittenNapKeyboard.jpg

The pot of coffee from the morning had about 2 cups worth in it, and rather than brew a new post I just filled my mug and put it in the microwave for a minute. That gets it to the same heat level as if it had been freshly brewed. I prepared it just as I do every cup I drink: 2 teaspoons of sugar, 2 teaspoons of milk.

I went to the couch and sat, drinking my coffee until I was done, taking about 10 minutes (give or take because I didn't time it).

Then I laid down and as I placed my head on the pillow I told myself that I have 20 minutes to nap and was going to awaken refreshed and alert.

20 minutes later - I was up! My eyes popped open. I sat up. I felt the same level of energy that I usually have after being awake for about an hour and have a few cups of coffee in me.

I went back into my office and tackled the next part of my project. I completed my work day, spent time with my husband, shut down the computer and went to bed at my normal time. I awoke this morning feeling just as alert as I always do.

My conclusion: A Coffee Nap is a Good Thing! Indeed, I was more alert than I expected and it lasted through into the evening. I was rested, but it was a bit more than that...it was the feeling you have after drinking a few cups of coffee - not buzzing, just a bit more "on".

I doubt I will do this every day, or even every day that I take a nap. But I will certainly do this when I have reached a point of mental tiredness that requires the Power Nap cure!

Sort:  

Congratulations @infopro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I must try this. I often take naps after work then find myself having trouble sleeping that night because I napped too long in the day. Maybe this quick coffee/power nap is the solution I'm looking for.

Hmmm...I'd love to hear your results! If I nap too long, definitely I will have difficulty getting to sleep that night. But that happens so infrequently that I'm not able to test the Coffee Nap. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61