You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Have Courage

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Very true. Also greater chance of those who disagree running into each other, over and over, and having friends in common. This is how people compare ideas, develop critical reasoning skills, and mature their ideas. There are many things I think now that I didn't think just 5 years ago. Though some of that growth comes from my own observation of life and reflection, much comes from my interactions with the ideas of others who I trust have their hearts in it. For the most part, I respect a person who clearly cares, even if we disagree. (I do think there are some beliefs we need to be intolerant about though.)

But you're highlighting why people in cities tend to be more progressive in their thinking. In suburban areas people don't run into their neighbors much period, but even in rural areas, often they only run into people who are toeing the party line, so to say. Whether they really think the same or not, there is a lot of pressure to conform by presenting oneself as believing the same things.

Ultimately we each are responsible for our own action or failure to act. The more we learn, the more likely we can rise to the challenge in a way that genuinely supports our self-esteem, and so also our well-being in life.

Sort:  

I love that you pointed out the greater chance of running into those we disagree with. I might argue this is even more important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62686.30
ETH 2673.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56