Cooking with Gas Again!

in #life6 years ago

That's country-folk way of saying things are working properly again, and in this case that I have high speed internet again! All is right in the world!

Well, actually there is plenty quite not right in the world, but at least I can easily say so on the internet again now!

I can also easily do something like this...

cheers-839865_1280.jpg
(That's a Pixabay photo that I could easily share with you. Here's another....)

soap-bubble-2403673_1280.jpg
(Also Pixabay)

What fun! What ease! What speed!

Respect

If you have always used Steemit from a mobile phone, massive respect to you my sister/brother! I have felt your pain, and though I'm happily back on my laptop after almost 2 months of trying to keep as close to daily posts as I have been able to, I will always be keenly aware that for some folks everything that is done on the internet always has to be done on mobile.

It's hard. Everything takes longer. Somethings you just give up on, because it takes too long. There is a tax of efficiency placed on those who can't access the laptop/high-speed internet resources. And this maintains a divide of opportunity that also causes it.

While I can't afford to go out and buy laptops (or internet services) for the world, I can at least share my upvotes with you, and hopefully add to your ability to someday buy these things for yourself with Steemit income.

As for me, expect to see more of my comments on your posts and more regular posting from me as well... with more images!

Thanks for reading, and see you around.

Sort:  

Now that is the dilemma I'm dealing with cause my Sony laptop has the blue screen of death that I think may be able to fix. My youngest son that joined the Army last year took our brand new HP laptop I had with him to Alaska where he is stationed for the next two years..he is in the computer division of the Army and he had built himself a gaming computer tower, but he has not sent my damn new laptop back yet. I am doing all my posting with my cell phone. I actually do have another laptop in my house but my daughter keeps it with her doing school work and studying so I don't even bother using that one. 😜
By the way..... I love that tribesteemup tag.

You've got lots of computers then; just lots of kids too! LOL Well you're being a good dad. Just remember that when you're pecking away and waiting, waiting, waiting. 😀

At this moment being without internet is like not having water, it has become essential in our life. I am new to this platform and the internet here is very unstable.
I congratulate you because you can spend more time doing this important work in Steemit. Greetings.

It really is almost like water when it comes to the life of what you're trying to create online! Hope you get yourself some stable internet soon, whether there or somewhere else. In the meantime, stay strong!

I can stay in doors many days as long there is light, internet connectivity and food.
The internet brings the world very close to us and i understand how it feels to be back on a good internet service again. Do enjoy it friend

I used to be like that too! I'm trying to take this break time to set new habits. We'll see how much my reduced online time sticks.

Ok success friend.

Haha I so hear this. I was posting on my phone for the first month holding the phone up in the air to reach the spotty country internet. I think Ini even climbed a tree at one point 😂 one thing is for certain, it makes you more thankful for when you do have it!! 💙 glad you’re cooking with gas again!

LOL! I didn’t quite get “climb a tree” desperate, but I can easily imagine it for him. 😀

Good, I'm happy for you. I work in steemit from a small computer and I hope someday that things will improve in order to buy a bigger computer, I do not complain about this, it has helped me a lot and I hope I keep doing it. I wish you success.

Yes, after working on mobile you will be fine with a small computer, as I was reminiscing about the month I used the iPad when I only had the phone. But when you compare only to a larger display and keyboard computer, the small computer can also seem burdensome. I had complained to myself about the iPad previously! Well glad to put the whole experiment to rest.

I'm glad you've got your internet access back @indigoocean I can't imagine trying to do everything on my phone for two months. I think I would have given up.

Actually I would probably have to go the library every day which would severely hamper my productivity as allowed time is limited and the connection is really slow.

I think the mobile thing might be related to age a bit though (cough, cough). When we're looking to book or buy stuff, for example, and I offer my kids my laptop, they always decline, preferring to continue on their phones.

Mind you they are not trying to write blog posts. For such things they probably would choose a computer.

I'm one of those people who are still struggling to text coherently and trying to do much more than that is frustrating beyond words.

I have Steepshot and Esteem on my phone but I've only used the former once and the latter not at all.

Welcome back to the world of proper keyboards and decent screens! 😁

I think there probably is some generational factor there. I found even shopping on the phone frustrating though, because the pictures for results in a search take forever to load. Maybe they are using their mobile with your wifi!

I don't think it matters whether they are using their wifi or 3G/4G they just prefer their phones for most things. I just don't get how they can do so much stuff one handed as well. I have to hold my phone in my left hand and prod at it with my right! 😂

I suppose, in the end, it just comes down to practice and they have had many, many more man hours on their phones that I have.

They had smartphones years before I did and spend so much more time on it than I do so maybe if I'd spent as many hours as they have at it, I be equally proficient. 😁

I do most everything from my mobile device, including this comment. 😆 (I did spend extra time correcting the word “including” with my tiny thumb keyboard 😂) It’s what I’m used to. I always have it with me. But there are disadvantages as well. True

How did you even make those emojis on your phone? I never got that feature working.

Really? They’re just there on the keyboard of my iPhone. Very useful to convey feelings with the words typed and another reason I use my mobile device so much.

Yeah, same here. I have the Google phone.🤑🤔😁😋🙂😎

Duh. I just realized I needed the Steemplus feature to do them on laptop but not on mobile! So the one mobile benefit, I didn’t even realize until it had passed!

Yay!
849429339219775488.jpg
source: CoreInfluence

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99